Compare radio apps

AppBuild.diy compared with 4 providers and the option to vibe code your own app: prices, fees, contracts and whether you get your own branded app.

Best for: radio stations businesses that want their own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans.

Your business. Your own app.

A look inside AppBuild: branded app starter, live radio example, podcast player example, push notification example.

See radio stations apps
AppBuild app example showing branded app starter — AppBuild radio stations app comparison
Branded app starter
AppBuild app example showing live radio example — AppBuild radio stations app comparison
Live radio example
AppBuild app example showing podcast player example — AppBuild radio stations app comparison
Podcast player example
AppBuild app example showing push notification example — AppBuild radio stations app comparison
Push notification example

Providers in this comparison

Price and features at a glance

ProviderTypeStarting price (as published)Your own branded appOrder / booking feesContract / trial
AppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild radio stations app comparisonAppBuild.diyBranded app builder for local businessesFree (up to 10 users); $49/month or $299/year; $99/month or $499/yearYes — App Store, Google Play and web0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; Stripe card fees applyNo contract; free plan
Vibe codingBuild from scratch with Lovable, Claude, Base44 or similar toolsVariable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.Bespoke branding and features; store packaging and submission require additional setupDepends on your chosen payment provider and services; processing fees still applyDepends on the tools and services you choose; free tiers may have limits
RadioKing (mobile app) logo — AppBuild radio stations app comparisonRadioKing (mobile app)Radio hosting with branded app add-onApp: Basic (Android only) $29/mo or $290/yr; Smart (iOS + Android) $69/mo or $690/yr; Premium $99/mo or $990/yr. Radio hosting separate: Discover £14/€14/$19 per month up to Business £99/€99/$119 per monthYes (paid separately from hosting). Apple Developer $99/yr and Google Play $25 one-time required; publishing by RadioKing $50 per app on Basic/Smart, included on PremiumNot statedFree trial; "No commitment"
Radio.co logo — AppBuild radio stations app comparisonRadio.coRadio hosting with mobile app optionLite $35/mo; Standard $59/mo; Plus $139/mo; Premium $199/mo (USD)Yes on Plus and Premium, or $35/mo add-on. Apple Developer $99/yr and Google Play $25 one-time requiredNot stated14-day trial, no contracts
Live365 logo — AppBuild radio stations app comparisonLive365Radio hosting with licensingBroadcast 1 $65/mo; Broadcast 2 $109/mo; Broadcast 3 $219/mo; Broadcast 4 $549/mo; Broadcast 5 $1,099/moAdd-on on Broadcast 1 and 2 (price not shown); included from Broadcast 3Overages $0.07 per listening hour7-day trial; no setup fees
Shoutcast logo — AppBuild radio stations app comparisonShoutcastRadio streaming server / hostingShoutcast Easy from €50/yr per station; Shoutcast Basic (self-hosted) free; Shoutcast Pro via salesNo (not mentioned)Not statedTrial not stated

How AppBuild differs

  • vs RadioKing: RadioKing's iOS + Android app is $69/mo on top of a separate hosting plan, and a $50 publishing fee applies on Basic/Smart; AppBuild's app (PWA + iOS + Android) is on plans from free, Unlimited $99/mo or $499/yr, and works with any stream.
  • vs Radio.co: Radio.co includes apps from the $139/mo plan or as a $35/mo add-on to hosting; AppBuild is app-only and plays a stream from any host.
  • vs Live365: Live365 includes apps from $219/mo; AppBuild's branded app starts free, with Pro at $49/mo.
  • vs Shoutcast: Shoutcast is streaming infrastructure with no app listed; AppBuild adds the listener app (background audio, Now Playing, push, requests) on top of a Shoutcast stream.

Where AppBuild is strong

  • Your own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with every feature for up to 10 users.
  • Pulls in your existing YouTube, Twitch, podcast or radio stream rather than replacing it.
  • No revenue share taken by AppBuild.

Where others may suit you better

  • Not a video hosting or course platform.
  • Smaller community and discussion features than dedicated creator platforms.

Key features by provider

ProviderMarketKey featuresSource
RadioKing (mobile app) logo — AppBuild radio stations app comparisonRadioKing (mobile app)UK + US + EUSmart: 50,000 push notifications; Premium: CarPlay, Android Auto, smart TV, Apple Watch, AdMobradioking.com, radioking.com
Radio.co logo — AppBuild radio stations app comparisonRadio.coUK + USStreaming, storage, listener limits, 320kbps on Premiumradio.co
Live365 logo — AppBuild radio stations app comparisonLive365US (licensing US, Canada, Mexico)Streaming, music licensing, TuneIn, Alexa skill (Broadcast 2+)live365.com
Shoutcast logo — AppBuild radio stations app comparisonShoutcastUK + US + EUCloud hosting, ad injection, audience monitoring, royalties reportingshoutcast.com
Vibe codingDepends on your chosen toolsFull design freedom. Ordering, bookings, loyalty, permissions and integrations must be built, tested and maintained. Native push, certificates and store submissions need additional technical work or a service such as AppBuild.lovable.dev, claude.com, base44.com

Gaps in published data: Live365 app add-on price for Broadcast 1/2 not shown. Radio.co annual discount not specified. Shoutcast Pro not published (demo/quote). Shoutcast trial not stated.

Build from scratch with AI, or start with AppBuild?

Lovable, Claude, Base44 and similar tools are a genuine alternative in any industry. A bespoke build gives you more control over the design and business logic. AppBuild offers a shorter route to launch for supported business needs, with ready-made capabilities you can add without building each one yourself.

ConsiderationAppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild radio stations app comparisonAppBuild.diyVibe coding
Time to marketStart with ready-made pages and features; configure your content and services. Store review still takes time.A prototype can be quick; production testing, payments, permissions and store preparation add work.
CostsPublished plan price, plus applicable payment processing, store-account and third-party service costs.Variable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.
Flexibility & ease of useAdd supported capabilities such as loyalty, bookings and ordering through the builder; less freedom than a fully custom product.Bespoke layouts and logic; each new capability needs implementation, testing and ongoing maintenance.
Push & app storesAppBuild provides push and app infrastructure, subject to setup requirements and store approval.Native push certificates, signing and store submissions are technical work, not automatically solved by generating a website.
Ongoing responsibilityShared business-app framework and managed infrastructure; you manage your business content and settings.You are responsible for security, data access, updates and the services behind your app.

These approaches can work together: build your bespoke experience with AI, then use AppBuild to wrap your app and add supported native capabilities such as push notifications. Wrapping does not automatically add AppBuild’s business features to your custom app.

Tool pricing and allowances vary: Lovable pricing · Claude pricing · Base44 pricing. Check the services your project actually needs.

AppBuild pricing

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0/monthUp to 10 app users. Your own app on iPhone, Android and the web.
Business$49/month or $299/yearUp to 1,000 app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.
Business Pro$99/month or $499/yearUnlimited app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.

Card processing fees are charged by Stripe on top of any plan and are not set by AppBuild. Full details on the pricing page.

More comparisons

Start free

Last checked 7 October 2026. Competitor prices come from their own public pages, linked below each table. Where a price isn't published we say so. Spotted something out of date? Tell us via support.