AppBuild vs Optisoft

Looking for a Optisoft alternative? Optisoft is a optical practice management (optisoft.net). Compare its published pricing, branded apps, fees and capabilities with AppBuild.diy.

Optisoft is best for opticians businesses that want optical practice management (Optisoft.NET) (eGOS, recalls, online bookings module, dispensing, clinical records, Optipost remote printing).

AppBuild is best for opticians businesses that want their own branded app with ready-made ordering, booking, loyalty and push notifications, starting free with 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans.

AppBuild is not a clinical records system and does not claim HIPAA, NHS or Ofsted certification. Check your sector requirements.

Your business. Your own app.

A look inside AppBuild: branded app starter, contact and directions example, loyalty rewards example, push notification example.

See opticians apps
AppBuild app example showing branded app starter — AppBuild vs Optisoft app builder comparison
Branded app starter
AppBuild app example showing contact and directions example — AppBuild vs Optisoft app builder comparison
Contact and directions example
AppBuild app example showing loyalty rewards example — AppBuild vs Optisoft app builder comparison
Loyalty rewards example
AppBuild app example showing push notification example — AppBuild vs Optisoft app builder comparison
Push notification example

Optisoft vs AppBuild for opticians

ConsiderationAppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild vs Optisoft app builder comparisonAppBuild.diyOptisoft
TypeBranded business-app builder with ready-made pages and capabilitiesOptical practice management (Optisoft.NET)
Published pricingFree: up to 10 users; Business: $49/month or $299/year; Business Pro: $99/month or $499/year£160 per month core; modules (incl. Appointments, Online Bookings) £25 per module per month; cloud hosting £55/month
Your own branded appApp Store, Google Play and installable web app; store setup and approval requiredNo
Fees0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; payment processing and third-party fees may applySMS from £0.055 per message; payment terminal integration (fees not stated)
Contract / trialFree plan; monthly or annual paid plans"No commitment to a long contract"; 12 months free subscription for new customers (excludes cloud hosting)
CapabilitiesSupported ordering, bookings, loyalty, push notifications and content pages; check the features your business requireseGOS, recalls, online bookings module, dispensing, clinical records, Optipost remote printing
MarketAvailable worldwide, subject to store and payment-service availabilityUK

Sources: optisoft.co.uk. Figures recorded 7 October 2026; currencies, billing periods and packages differ. Confirm current terms with the provider.

Compare all opticians providers

AppBuild pricing

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0/monthUp to 10 app users. Your own app on iPhone, Android and the web.
Business$49/month or $299/yearUp to 1,000 app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.
Business Pro$99/month or $499/yearUnlimited app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.

Card processing fees are charged by Stripe on top of any plan and are not set by AppBuild. Full details on the pricing page.

Choose Optisoft if…

  • you want optical practice management (Optisoft.NET).
  • you need what it highlights: eGOS, recalls, online bookings module, dispensing, clinical records, Optipost remote printing.
  • its terms suit you: "No commitment to a long contract"; 12 months free subscription for new customers (excludes cloud hosting).
  • you don't need an app under your own brand (own branded app with Optisoft: No).

Choose AppBuild if…

  • you want a published flat price: free for up to 10 users, then $49 or $99/month (Optisoft: £160 per month core; modules (incl. Appointments, Online Bookings) £25 per module per month; cloud hosting £55/month).
  • you want 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans (Optisoft fees: SMS from £0.055 per message; payment terminal integration (fees not stated)).
  • you want your own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web.

Key differences from Optisoft

  • Optisoft sells online booking as a £25/month module on a £160/month core; AppBuild includes booking, push and loyalty in one plan.

Questions

AppBuild.diy is an alternative to Optisoft for opticians businesses that want optical practice management (Optisoft.NET) (eGOS, recalls, online bookings module, dispensing, clinical records, Optipost remote printing) who would rather have their own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web. AppBuild starts free for up to 10 users, then $49 or $99 a month. Other options compared here include Optix, Acuitas 3 (Ocuco), RevolutionEHR, Weave.

Optisoft's published pricing, checked 7 October 2026: £160 per month core; modules (incl. Appointments, Online Bookings) £25 per module per month; cloud hosting £55/month. AppBuild: Free for up to 10 users, Business $49/month or $299/year, Business Pro $99/month or $499/year, with 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans.

It depends on what you need. Choose Optisoft if you want optical practice management (Optisoft.NET). Choose AppBuild if you want your own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web.

Other alternatives to Optisoft

Last checked 7 October 2026. Competitor prices come from their own public pages, linked below each table. Where a price isn't published we say so. Spotted something out of date? Tell us via support.