Compare optician apps

AppBuild.diy compared with 5 providers and the option to vibe code your own app: prices, fees, contracts and whether you get your own branded app.

Best for: opticians businesses that want their own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans.

Some providers below hold sector certifications (for example HIPAA, GDPR tooling, NHS or Ofsted). AppBuild does not claim these, so check what your sector requires.

Your business. Your own app.

A look inside AppBuild: branded app starter, contact and directions example, loyalty rewards example, push notification example.

See opticians apps
AppBuild app example showing branded app starter — AppBuild opticians app comparison
Branded app starter
AppBuild app example showing contact and directions example — AppBuild opticians app comparison
Contact and directions example
AppBuild app example showing loyalty rewards example — AppBuild opticians app comparison
Loyalty rewards example
AppBuild app example showing push notification example — AppBuild opticians app comparison
Push notification example

Providers in this comparison

Price and features at a glance

ProviderTypeStarting price (as published)Your own branded appOrder / booking feesContract / trial
AppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild opticians app comparisonAppBuild.diyBranded app builder for local businessesFree (up to 10 users); $49/month or $299/year; $99/month or $499/yearYes — App Store, Google Play and web0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; Stripe card fees applyNo contract; free plan
Vibe codingBuild from scratch with Lovable, Claude, Base44 or similar toolsVariable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.Bespoke branding and features; store packaging and submission require additional setupDepends on your chosen payment provider and services; processing fees still applyDepends on the tools and services you choose; free tiers may have limits
Optix logo — AppBuild opticians app comparisonOptixOptical and audiology practice management£417/month per site for first 2 sites, £356/month each additional site, excl. VAT; Checkpoint security appliance £39.95/month mandatoryNoNot statedMonthly rental, no initial software fee; start-ups 50% off first 12 months; trial not stated
OptisoftOptical practice management (Optisoft.NET)£160 per month core; modules (incl. Appointments, Online Bookings) £25 per module per month; cloud hosting £55/monthNoSMS from £0.055 per message; payment terminal integration (fees not stated)"No commitment to a long contract"; 12 months free subscription for new customers (excludes cloud hosting)
Acuitas 3 (Ocuco) logo — AppBuild opticians app comparisonAcuitas 3 (Ocuco)Optical practice managementNot published (demo/quote)NoNot statedNot stated
RevolutionEHR logo — AppBuild opticians app comparisonRevolutionEHROptometry EHR and practice managementCore $455/month; Advanced from $660/month; Premium from $830/month; exam or optical-only locations from $319/monthNoNot stated; one-time setup fee and data conversion fee"No long-term contracts"; trial not stated
Weave logo — AppBuild opticians app comparisonWeavePatient communication + phones (lists optometry)"Starting from $199 per month"NoPayments feature; fees not statedNot stated

How AppBuild differs

  • vs Optix: Optix is a PMS from £417/month per site plus security appliance; AppBuild is a branded customer app from free to $99/mo with no contract.
  • vs Optisoft: Optisoft sells online booking as a £25/month module on a £160/month core; AppBuild includes booking, push and loyalty in one plan.
  • vs Acuitas 3: Acuitas is quote-only PMS with web booking; AppBuild adds an App Store/Google Play app under the practice's name.
  • vs RevolutionEHR: RevolutionEHR starts at $455/month plus setup fees; AppBuild has no setup fee and a free tier.
  • vs Weave: Weave starts at $199/month with no patient app listed; AppBuild publishes a branded app from $0.

Where AppBuild is strong

  • Your own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with every feature for up to 10 users.
  • A simple branded app for appointments, updates and push reminders at a published price.

Where others may suit you better

  • Not a clinical or patient-records system.
  • AppBuild does not claim HIPAA, NHS, Ofsted or similar certifications. Check what your sector requires.

Key features by provider

ProviderMarketKey featuresSource
Optix logo — AppBuild opticians app comparisonOptixUKDiary, recalls, eGOS, stock, direct debit, marketing tools, BI, ISO 27001optix.co.uk
OptisoftUKeGOS, recalls, online bookings module, dispensing, clinical records, Optipost remote printingoptisoft.co.uk
Acuitas 3 (Ocuco) logo — AppBuild opticians app comparisonAcuitas 3 (Ocuco)UK, IrelandOnline booking, recalls via SMS/email, EMR, POS, stock, NHS GOS forms via eGOS, GDPR; ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II citedocuco.com
RevolutionEHR logo — AppBuild opticians app comparisonRevolutionEHRUSReminders, two-way texting, e-registration forms, recall alerts, review management, website scheduling widget (Advanced+)revolutionehr.com
Weave logo — AppBuild opticians app comparisonWeaveUSPhones, texting, reminders, reviews, paymentsgetweave.com
Vibe codingDepends on your chosen toolsFull design freedom. Ordering, bookings, loyalty, permissions and integrations must be built, tested and maintained. Native push, certificates and store submissions need additional technical work or a service such as AppBuild.lovable.dev, claude.com, base44.com

Gaps in published data: Acuitas 3 pricing not published. No optician-specific branded-app vendor with public pricing found.

Build from scratch with AI, or start with AppBuild?

Lovable, Claude, Base44 and similar tools are a genuine alternative in any industry. A bespoke build gives you more control over the design and business logic. AppBuild offers a shorter route to launch for supported business needs, with ready-made capabilities you can add without building each one yourself.

ConsiderationAppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild opticians app comparisonAppBuild.diyVibe coding
Time to marketStart with ready-made pages and features; configure your content and services. Store review still takes time.A prototype can be quick; production testing, payments, permissions and store preparation add work.
CostsPublished plan price, plus applicable payment processing, store-account and third-party service costs.Variable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.
Flexibility & ease of useAdd supported capabilities such as loyalty, bookings and ordering through the builder; less freedom than a fully custom product.Bespoke layouts and logic; each new capability needs implementation, testing and ongoing maintenance.
Push & app storesAppBuild provides push and app infrastructure, subject to setup requirements and store approval.Native push certificates, signing and store submissions are technical work, not automatically solved by generating a website.
Ongoing responsibilityShared business-app framework and managed infrastructure; you manage your business content and settings.You are responsible for security, data access, updates and the services behind your app.

These approaches can work together: build your bespoke experience with AI, then use AppBuild to wrap your app and add supported native capabilities such as push notifications. Wrapping does not automatically add AppBuild’s business features to your custom app.

Tool pricing and allowances vary: Lovable pricing · Claude pricing · Base44 pricing. Check the services your project actually needs.

AppBuild pricing

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0/monthUp to 10 app users. Your own app on iPhone, Android and the web.
Business$49/month or $299/yearUp to 1,000 app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.
Business Pro$99/month or $499/yearUnlimited app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.

Card processing fees are charged by Stripe on top of any plan and are not set by AppBuild. Full details on the pricing page.

More comparisons

Start free

Last checked 7 October 2026. Competitor prices come from their own public pages, linked below each table. Where a price isn't published we say so. Spotted something out of date? Tell us via support.