Compare soft play apps

AppBuild.diy compared with 4 providers and the option to vibe code your own app: prices, fees, contracts and whether you get your own branded app.

Best for: soft play businesses that want their own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans.

Your business. Your own app.

A look inside AppBuild: event app home example, upcoming events example, event details example, digital ticket example.

See soft play apps
AppBuild app example showing event app home example — AppBuild soft play app comparison
Event app home example
AppBuild app example showing upcoming events example — AppBuild soft play app comparison
Upcoming events example
AppBuild app example showing event details example — AppBuild soft play app comparison
Event details example
AppBuild app example showing digital ticket example — AppBuild soft play app comparison
Digital ticket example

Providers in this comparison

Price and features at a glance

ProviderTypeStarting price (as published)Your own branded appOrder / booking feesContract / trial
AppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild soft play app comparisonAppBuild.diyBranded app builder for local businessesFree (up to 10 users); $49/month or $299/year; $99/month or $499/yearYes — App Store, Google Play and web0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; Stripe card fees applyNo contract; free plan
Vibe codingBuild from scratch with Lovable, Claude, Base44 or similar toolsVariable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.Bespoke branding and features; store packaging and submission require additional setupDepends on your chosen payment provider and services; processing fees still applyDepends on the tools and services you choose; free tiers may have limits
ROLLER logo — AppBuild soft play app comparisonROLLERVenue management software for play centres, FECs, trampoline parksNot published (demo/quote) on own page. Third-party: Lite $300/mo billed annually or $360/mo billed monthly (third-party: Capterra/G2 via search; Capterra page itself now shows "Custom Quote")No store app stated; "Mobile and conversion optimised eCommerce app" for online checkout (web)Usage fees "billed in arrears on the 5th of each month for transactions processed", separate from merchant processing; amount not stated14-day free trial; contract length not stated
Gatemaster logo — AppBuild soft play app comparisonGatemasterAttraction ticketing/POS suiteOwn site returned 403. Third-party: from $89 per user per month (third-party: Capterra)Not verified (third-party news: guest app via Attractions.io partnership)Not statedThird-party: no free trial (Capterra)
Booked it logo — AppBuild soft play app comparisonBooked itBooking, EPOS and access control for soft play and leisureNot published (demo/quote); "pricing for Booked it is tailored to how your venue operates"Not statedPage mentions a "percentage fee" model; rate not disclosedDemo; trial not stated
Baluu logo — AppBuild soft play app comparisonBaluuBooking system (has a soft play page)Standard £0/mo; Pro £49/mo; Growth £99/moNo (not mentioned)Standard 3% commission (50p min); Pro 2% (40p min); Growth 2% (30p min); first 90 days at 0%No card, no setup fees

How AppBuild differs

  • vs ROLLER: ROLLER does not publish prices and bills usage fees on transactions; AppBuild publishes pricing from free and takes zero commission.
  • vs Gatemaster: Gatemaster is a ticketing/POS suite priced per user (third-party figure); AppBuild is a customer-facing branded app with push notifications and loyalty, priced by app users.
  • vs Booked it: Booked it uses a percentage fee and quote-based pricing; AppBuild is flat-priced with zero commission.
  • vs Baluu: Baluu charges 2% to 3% commission per booking; AppBuild charges no commission and adds a branded store app.

Where AppBuild is strong

  • Your own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with every feature for up to 10 users.
  • No per-ticket or per-booking fee from AppBuild.
  • Works alongside Eventbrite, Hostfully and Hospitable.

Where others may suit you better

  • Not a hotel property-management system or channel manager.
  • Lighter church admin and giving tools than dedicated church software.

Key features by provider

ProviderMarketKey featuresSource
ROLLER logo — AppBuild soft play app comparisonROLLERUK + US + AU (USD, AUD, GBP, EUR, CAD)Online checkout, POS, party packages, memberships, cashless, waivers, mobile F&B ordering (Premium), guest feedbackroller.software, capterra.com (includes third-party figures)
Gatemaster logo — AppBuild soft play app comparisonGatemasterUK + 16 countriesTicketing and admission, group bookings, memberships, capacity, access control, mobile orderingcapterra.com, blooloop.com
Booked it logo — AppBuild soft play app comparisonBooked itUKOnline booking, EPOS and access control hardware (buy or rent), loyalty add-onbooked.it
Baluu logo — AppBuild soft play app comparisonBaluuUKBooking widgets, class scheduling, gift cards, automated emails, newsletters, AI chatbotbaluu.co.uk
Vibe codingDepends on your chosen toolsFull design freedom. Ordering, bookings, loyalty, permissions and integrations must be built, tested and maintained. Native push, certificates and store submissions need additional technical work or a service such as AppBuild.lovable.dev, claude.com, base44.com

Gaps in published data: ROLLER and Booked it pricing not published; Gatemaster site blocked (403), figures third-party only; no customer store app confirmed for any soft play competitor.

Build from scratch with AI, or start with AppBuild?

Lovable, Claude, Base44 and similar tools are a genuine alternative in any industry. A bespoke build gives you more control over the design and business logic. AppBuild offers a shorter route to launch for supported business needs, with ready-made capabilities you can add without building each one yourself.

ConsiderationAppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild soft play app comparisonAppBuild.diyVibe coding
Time to marketStart with ready-made pages and features; configure your content and services. Store review still takes time.A prototype can be quick; production testing, payments, permissions and store preparation add work.
CostsPublished plan price, plus applicable payment processing, store-account and third-party service costs.Variable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.
Flexibility & ease of useAdd supported capabilities such as loyalty, bookings and ordering through the builder; less freedom than a fully custom product.Bespoke layouts and logic; each new capability needs implementation, testing and ongoing maintenance.
Push & app storesAppBuild provides push and app infrastructure, subject to setup requirements and store approval.Native push certificates, signing and store submissions are technical work, not automatically solved by generating a website.
Ongoing responsibilityShared business-app framework and managed infrastructure; you manage your business content and settings.You are responsible for security, data access, updates and the services behind your app.

These approaches can work together: build your bespoke experience with AI, then use AppBuild to wrap your app and add supported native capabilities such as push notifications. Wrapping does not automatically add AppBuild’s business features to your custom app.

Tool pricing and allowances vary: Lovable pricing · Claude pricing · Base44 pricing. Check the services your project actually needs.

AppBuild pricing

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0/monthUp to 10 app users. Your own app on iPhone, Android and the web.
Business$49/month or $299/yearUp to 1,000 app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.
Business Pro$99/month or $499/yearUnlimited app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.

Card processing fees are charged by Stripe on top of any plan and are not set by AppBuild. Full details on the pricing page.

More comparisons

Start free

Last checked 7 October 2026. Competitor prices come from their own public pages, linked below each table. Where a price isn't published we say so. Spotted something out of date? Tell us via support.