Compare vet apps
AppBuild.diy compared with 5 providers and the option to vibe code your own app: prices, fees, contracts and whether you get your own branded app.
Best for: veterinary practices businesses that want their own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans.
Some providers below hold sector certifications (for example HIPAA, GDPR tooling, NHS or Ofsted). AppBuild does not claim these, so check what your sector requires.
Your business. Your own app.
A look inside AppBuild: branded app starter, contact and directions example, loyalty rewards example, push notification example.
See veterinary practices apps



Providers in this comparison
PetsAppVet client engagement platform + pet owner app
VetstoriaVet online booking
PetDeskVet client communications + pet owner app
Vet2Pet (Vetsource)Vet client engagement app
WeavePatient communication + phones (lists veterinary)
- Vibe coding
Build from scratch with Lovable, Claude, Base44 or similar tools
Price and features at a glance
| Provider | Type | Starting price (as published) | Your own branded app | Order / booking fees | Contract / trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Branded app builder for local businesses | Free (up to 10 users); $49/month or $299/year; $99/month or $499/year | Yes — App Store, Google Play and web | 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; Stripe card fees apply | No contract; free plan | |
| Vibe coding | Build from scratch with Lovable, Claude, Base44 or similar tools | Variable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price. | Bespoke branding and features; store packaging and submission require additional setup | Depends on your chosen payment provider and services; processing fees still apply | Depends on the tools and services you choose; free tiers may have limits |
| Vet client engagement platform + pet owner app | Not published (demo/quote) | Shared (pet owners use the PetsApp app in the App Store and Google Play; per-practice branding not stated) | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Vet online booking | UK: Small Team £199/month per location (up to 2 clinicians); Medium £299; Large £399 | No (web booking) | Not stated | "No contracts, switch or cancel anytime"; yearly billing 1 month free; full refund within first 30 days | |
| Vet client communications + pet owner app | Not published (demo/quote); third-party reports cite about $389/month for base mobile app and email requests (third-party: costbench.com) | Shared (PetDesk app) | Not stated | No contract, cancel anytime (third-party: costbench.com reports 30-day notice) | |
| Vet client engagement app | Not published; free when combined with Vetsource Prescription Management | Add-on (paid branded version listed under the practice's name in Apple/Google stores; price not published) | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Patient communication + phones (lists veterinary) | "Starting from $199 per month" | No | Payments feature; fees not stated | Not stated |
How AppBuild differs
- vs PetsApp: PetsApp clients use the shared PetsApp app and pricing is quote-only; AppBuild publishes the practice's own app with public pricing.
- vs Vetstoria: Vetstoria is web booking from £199/month per location; AppBuild includes booking plus push and loyalty from $0 to $99/month.
- vs PetDesk: PetDesk clients use the PetDesk-branded app and pricing is quote-only; AppBuild lists the app under the practice's own name.
- vs Vet2Pet: Vet2Pet's branded store version is a paid upgrade with no public price; AppBuild includes the store listing on Pro ($49/mo).
- vs Weave: Weave starts at $199/month with no client app listed; AppBuild offers a branded app from free.
Where AppBuild is strong
- Your own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with every feature for up to 10 users.
- A simple branded app for appointments, updates and push reminders at a published price.
Where others may suit you better
- Not a clinical or patient-records system.
- AppBuild does not claim HIPAA, NHS, Ofsted or similar certifications. Check what your sector requires.
Key features by provider
| Provider | Market | Key features | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| UK | Chat (SMS, WhatsApp), booking, video calls, reminders, payments, wellness plans, loyalty plans, CRM | petsapp.com | |
| UK, EU, AU, NZ (US served via PetDesk Direct Booking) | Real-time booking, payments, analytics, 24/7 support | vetstoria.com | |
| US | Two-way texting, reminders, booking, refill requests, phones, AI Scribe, marketing incl. loyalty programs; 12,000+ practices | petdesk.com, costbench.com | |
| US | Two-way chat, push, appointment requests, QR check-in visit tracker, loyalty stamps and rewards | vetsource.com, vetsource.com | |
| US | Phones, texting, reminders, reviews, payments | getweave.com | |
| Vibe coding | Depends on your chosen tools | Full design freedom. Ordering, bookings, loyalty, permissions and integrations must be built, tested and maintained. Native push, certificates and store submissions need additional technical work or a service such as AppBuild. | lovable.dev, claude.com, base44.com |
Gaps in published data: PetsApp, PetDesk, Vet2Pet pricing not published. PetDesk figure is third-party only. PetsApp "shared app" is inferred from its single App Store/Play listing with 27.0k/2.3k ratings shown on its homepage; per-practice branding not stated either way.
Build from scratch with AI, or start with AppBuild?
Lovable, Claude, Base44 and similar tools are a genuine alternative in any industry. A bespoke build gives you more control over the design and business logic. AppBuild offers a shorter route to launch for supported business needs, with ready-made capabilities you can add without building each one yourself.
| Consideration | Vibe coding | |
|---|---|---|
| Time to market | Start with ready-made pages and features; configure your content and services. Store review still takes time. | A prototype can be quick; production testing, payments, permissions and store preparation add work. |
| Costs | Published plan price, plus applicable payment processing, store-account and third-party service costs. | Variable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price. |
| Flexibility & ease of use | Add supported capabilities such as loyalty, bookings and ordering through the builder; less freedom than a fully custom product. | Bespoke layouts and logic; each new capability needs implementation, testing and ongoing maintenance. |
| Push & app stores | AppBuild provides push and app infrastructure, subject to setup requirements and store approval. | Native push certificates, signing and store submissions are technical work, not automatically solved by generating a website. |
| Ongoing responsibility | Shared business-app framework and managed infrastructure; you manage your business content and settings. | You are responsible for security, data access, updates and the services behind your app. |
These approaches can work together: build your bespoke experience with AI, then use AppBuild to wrap your app and add supported native capabilities such as push notifications. Wrapping does not automatically add AppBuild’s business features to your custom app.
Tool pricing and allowances vary: Lovable pricing · Claude pricing · Base44 pricing. Check the services your project actually needs.
AppBuild pricing
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0/month | Up to 10 app users. Your own app on iPhone, Android and the web. |
| Business | $49/month or $299/year | Up to 1,000 app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders. |
| Business Pro | $99/month or $499/year | Unlimited app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders. |
Card processing fees are charged by Stripe on top of any plan and are not set by AppBuild. Full details on the pricing page.
More comparisons
- AppBuild for veterinary practices
- Dental Practices
- Opticians
- Pharmacies
- Physio & Chiropractic
- Childcare
- Funeral Director
- All industries
Last checked 7 October 2026. Competitor prices come from their own public pages, linked below each table. Where a price isn't published we say so. Spotted something out of date? Tell us via support.