Compare childcare apps

AppBuild.diy compared with 5 providers and the option to vibe code your own app: prices, fees, contracts and whether you get your own branded app.

Best for: childcare businesses that want their own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans.

Some providers below hold sector certifications (for example HIPAA, GDPR tooling, NHS or Ofsted). AppBuild does not claim these, so check what your sector requires.

Your business. Your own app.

A look inside AppBuild: branded app starter, contact and directions example, loyalty rewards example, push notification example.

See childcare apps
AppBuild app example showing branded app starter — AppBuild childcare app comparison
Branded app starter
AppBuild app example showing contact and directions example — AppBuild childcare app comparison
Contact and directions example
AppBuild app example showing loyalty rewards example — AppBuild childcare app comparison
Loyalty rewards example
AppBuild app example showing push notification example — AppBuild childcare app comparison
Push notification example

Providers in this comparison

Price and features at a glance

ProviderTypeStarting price (as published)Your own branded appOrder / booking feesContract / trial
AppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild childcare app comparisonAppBuild.diyBranded app builder for local businessesFree (up to 10 users); $49/month or $299/year; $99/month or $499/yearYes — App Store, Google Play and web0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; Stripe card fees applyNo contract; free plan
Vibe codingBuild from scratch with Lovable, Claude, Base44 or similar toolsVariable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.Bespoke branding and features; store packaging and submission require additional setupDepends on your chosen payment provider and services; processing fees still applyDepends on the tools and services you choose; free tiers may have limits
Famly logo — AppBuild childcare app comparisonFamlyNursery management + parent appFoundation £79/month (£948/year) excl. VAT, per setting; Premium £159/month; Professional £209/monthShared (Famly app); "whitelabel branding" only on Custom plan (contact sales)Integrated payments; fees not statedMonth-to-month, one month's notice; 2-week free trial; no setup fees
Brightwheel logo — AppBuild childcare app comparisonBrightwheelChildcare management + parent appNot published (quote by capacity/locations)Shared (brightwheel app)Processing fees on tuition payments; example 2.7% card, $0.50 ACH (third-party: vanderbilt.edu center tuition page)Not stated
Ovivio (formerly Blossom Educational) logo — AppBuild childcare app comparisonOvivio (formerly Blossom Educational)Nursery management + parent appEssentials £89/month monthly or £79/month billed annually, excl. VAT; Professional £149/£129; Business £199/£179Shared parent app on standard plans; "unique parent app" on Multi-Site (custom pricing)Not statedTrial/contract not stated
Tapestry logo — AppBuild childcare app comparisonTapestryOnline learning journal (EYFS)£68/year (up to 6 children) to £1,200/year (up to 400 children), excl. VATShared (free Tapestry relative apps for iOS/Android)None statedFree trial available; annual subscription
Procare logo — AppBuild childcare app comparisonProcareChildcare managementNot published ("Request Pricing")Not statedNot statedNot stated

How AppBuild differs

  • vs Famly: Famly parents use the shared Famly app unless the setting is on the Custom plan; AppBuild gives every plan its own store listing.
  • vs Brightwheel: Brightwheel pricing is quote-only and tuition payments carry processing fees; AppBuild takes zero commission (Stripe fees only).
  • vs Ovivio: Ovivio reserves a "unique parent app" for Multi-Site custom pricing; AppBuild includes a branded app from Pro at $49/mo.
  • vs Tapestry: Tapestry is an EYFS learning journal; AppBuild covers marketing, push and bookings, so the two can run together.
  • vs Procare: Procare is quote-only management software; AppBuild publishes prices from free.

Where AppBuild is strong

  • Your own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with every feature for up to 10 users.
  • A simple branded app for appointments, updates and push reminders at a published price.

Where others may suit you better

  • Not a clinical or patient-records system.
  • AppBuild does not claim HIPAA, NHS, Ofsted or similar certifications. Check what your sector requires.

Key features by provider

ProviderMarketKey featuresSource
Famly logo — AppBuild childcare app comparisonFamlyUK, Ireland (also other markets)Parent messaging, daily logs, observations, invoicing, sign in/out, rotas (Professional); GDPR, Ofsted-ready, EYFSfamly.co
Brightwheel logo — AppBuild childcare app comparisonBrightwheelUSBilling and payments, check-in, parent messaging, daily reports, lesson planningmybrightwheel.com, mybrightwheel.com
Ovivio (formerly Blossom Educational) logo — AppBuild childcare app comparisonOvivio (formerly Blossom Educational)UKParent app, Tax-Free Childcare integration (Business), multi-siteovivio.com
Tapestry logo — AppBuild childcare app comparisonTapestryUKObservations, EYFS assessment, parent sharing, all features on every tier; GDPRtapestry.info
Procare logo — AppBuild childcare app comparisonProcareUSBilling, attendance, parent engagementprocaresoftware.com
Vibe codingDepends on your chosen toolsFull design freedom. Ordering, bookings, loyalty, permissions and integrations must be built, tested and maintained. Native push, certificates and store submissions need additional technical work or a service such as AppBuild.lovable.dev, claude.com, base44.com

Gaps in published data: Brightwheel and Procare pricing not published; Brightwheel fee example is third-party.

Build from scratch with AI, or start with AppBuild?

Lovable, Claude, Base44 and similar tools are a genuine alternative in any industry. A bespoke build gives you more control over the design and business logic. AppBuild offers a shorter route to launch for supported business needs, with ready-made capabilities you can add without building each one yourself.

ConsiderationAppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild childcare app comparisonAppBuild.diyVibe coding
Time to marketStart with ready-made pages and features; configure your content and services. Store review still takes time.A prototype can be quick; production testing, payments, permissions and store preparation add work.
CostsPublished plan price, plus applicable payment processing, store-account and third-party service costs.Variable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.
Flexibility & ease of useAdd supported capabilities such as loyalty, bookings and ordering through the builder; less freedom than a fully custom product.Bespoke layouts and logic; each new capability needs implementation, testing and ongoing maintenance.
Push & app storesAppBuild provides push and app infrastructure, subject to setup requirements and store approval.Native push certificates, signing and store submissions are technical work, not automatically solved by generating a website.
Ongoing responsibilityShared business-app framework and managed infrastructure; you manage your business content and settings.You are responsible for security, data access, updates and the services behind your app.

These approaches can work together: build your bespoke experience with AI, then use AppBuild to wrap your app and add supported native capabilities such as push notifications. Wrapping does not automatically add AppBuild’s business features to your custom app.

Tool pricing and allowances vary: Lovable pricing · Claude pricing · Base44 pricing. Check the services your project actually needs.

AppBuild pricing

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0/monthUp to 10 app users. Your own app on iPhone, Android and the web.
Business$49/month or $299/yearUp to 1,000 app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.
Business Pro$99/month or $499/yearUnlimited app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.

Card processing fees are charged by Stripe on top of any plan and are not set by AppBuild. Full details on the pricing page.

More comparisons

Start free

Last checked 7 October 2026. Competitor prices come from their own public pages, linked below each table. Where a price isn't published we say so. Spotted something out of date? Tell us via support.