Compare locksmith apps

AppBuild.diy compared with 6 providers and the option to vibe code your own app: prices, fees, contracts and whether you get your own branded app.

Best for: locksmith businesses that want their own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans.

Your business. Your own app.

A look inside AppBuild: branded app starter, contact and directions example, loyalty rewards example, push notification example.

See locksmith apps
AppBuild app example showing branded app starter — AppBuild locksmith app comparison
Branded app starter
AppBuild app example showing contact and directions example — AppBuild locksmith app comparison
Contact and directions example
AppBuild app example showing loyalty rewards example — AppBuild locksmith app comparison
Loyalty rewards example
AppBuild app example showing push notification example — AppBuild locksmith app comparison
Push notification example

Providers in this comparison

Price and features at a glance

ProviderTypeStarting price (as published)Your own branded appOrder / booking feesContract / trial
AppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild locksmith app comparisonAppBuild.diyBranded app builder for local businessesFree (up to 10 users); $49/month or $299/year; $99/month or $499/yearYes — App Store, Google Play and web0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; Stripe card fees applyNo contract; free plan
Vibe codingBuild from scratch with Lovable, Claude, Base44 or similar toolsVariable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.Bespoke branding and features; store packaging and submission require additional setupDepends on your chosen payment provider and services; processing fees still applyDepends on the tools and services you choose; free tiers may have limits
KeyBoltLocksmith job management softwareBasic $59/mo (third-party: Capterra)NoStripe payments; platform fee not stated30-day free trial (third-party: Capterra)
Workiz logo — AppBuild locksmith app comparisonWorkizField service softwareNot published (demo/quote)NoNot stated7-day free trial, no card; annual discount
Jobber logo — AppBuild locksmith app comparisonJobberField service softwareCore $29/mo billed annually or $49/mo no commitmentNoCard 2.9% + $0.30; ACH 1%14-day free trial; monthly, 1-year commitment or annual prepaid
ServiceM8 logo — AppBuild locksmith app comparisonServiceM8Field service job managementFree (30 jobs/mo, 1 user); Starter £25/mo ex VAT (UK) or $29/mo (US), 50 jobsNoCard fees apply (rate not shown on UK/US pages); SMS 5p (UK)14-day free trial, no card; no lock-in
Housecall Pro logo — AppBuild locksmith app comparisonHousecall ProField service softwareBasic $59/mo billed annually or $79/mo monthly (1 user)NoCard processing from 2.59%No long-term contract; 14-day free trial, no card
Checkatrade logo — AppBuild locksmith app comparisonCheckatradeTrades directory / lead marketplaceFrom £59/mo advertised (third-party: whito.co.uk)Shared (Checkatrade directory)Per-lead fees £5 to £40 (third-party: whito.co.uk)12-month minimum, auto-renew (third-party: whito.co.uk)

How AppBuild differs

  • vs KeyBolt: KeyBolt is back-office job software; AppBuild is a customer app in the stores under the locksmith's name.
  • vs Workiz: Workiz pricing is demo-only; AppBuild publishes pricing and starts free.
  • vs Jobber: Jobber charges card fees from 2.9% + $0.30; AppBuild takes no commission.
  • vs ServiceM8: ServiceM8 caps jobs per month by plan; AppBuild is priced by app users with no per-job fees.
  • vs Housecall Pro: Housecall Pro processing starts at 2.59%; AppBuild uses Stripe's own fees only.
  • vs Checkatrade: Checkatrade sells leads in a shared directory; AppBuild keeps past customers one tap away in the locksmith's own app.

Where AppBuild is strong

  • Your own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with every feature for up to 10 users.
  • Bookings, reminders and repeat-customer offers without per-booking fees.

Where others may suit you better

  • No job dispatch, quoting or invoicing tools for field teams.
  • No marketplace listing to bring in new customers.

Key features by provider

ProviderMarketKey featuresSource
KeyBoltUSJobs, invoicing, customers, inventory, estimates, reports; Pro $189/mo adds business phone line and IVRcapterra.com
Workiz logo — AppBuild locksmith app comparisonWorkizUSScheduling, invoicing, automations, AI lead and scheduling tools (Pro), franchise tools (Ultimate)workiz.com
Jobber logo — AppBuild locksmith app comparisonJobberUS, UK, CAOnline booking, quotes, invoices, payments, websitegetjobber.com
ServiceM8 logo — AppBuild locksmith app comparisonServiceM8UK, US, AUScheduling, quoting, invoicing, mobile payments, accounting integrationsservicem8.com, servicem8.com
Housecall Pro logo — AppBuild locksmith app comparisonHousecall ProUSOnline booking, invoices, payments, dispatch, quotes, review managementhousecallpro.com
Checkatrade logo — AppBuild locksmith app comparisonCheckatradeUKProfile, reviews, search listing, sponsored listingswhito.co.uk
Vibe codingDepends on your chosen toolsFull design freedom. Ordering, bookings, loyalty, permissions and integrations must be built, tested and maintained. Native push, certificates and store submissions need additional technical work or a service such as AppBuild.lovable.dev, claude.com, base44.com

Gaps in published data: KeyBolt site did not resolve, pricing third-party only. Workiz quote-only. Checkatrade join page blocked; all Checkatrade figures third-party.

Build from scratch with AI, or start with AppBuild?

Lovable, Claude, Base44 and similar tools are a genuine alternative in any industry. A bespoke build gives you more control over the design and business logic. AppBuild offers a shorter route to launch for supported business needs, with ready-made capabilities you can add without building each one yourself.

ConsiderationAppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild locksmith app comparisonAppBuild.diyVibe coding
Time to marketStart with ready-made pages and features; configure your content and services. Store review still takes time.A prototype can be quick; production testing, payments, permissions and store preparation add work.
CostsPublished plan price, plus applicable payment processing, store-account and third-party service costs.Variable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.
Flexibility & ease of useAdd supported capabilities such as loyalty, bookings and ordering through the builder; less freedom than a fully custom product.Bespoke layouts and logic; each new capability needs implementation, testing and ongoing maintenance.
Push & app storesAppBuild provides push and app infrastructure, subject to setup requirements and store approval.Native push certificates, signing and store submissions are technical work, not automatically solved by generating a website.
Ongoing responsibilityShared business-app framework and managed infrastructure; you manage your business content and settings.You are responsible for security, data access, updates and the services behind your app.

These approaches can work together: build your bespoke experience with AI, then use AppBuild to wrap your app and add supported native capabilities such as push notifications. Wrapping does not automatically add AppBuild’s business features to your custom app.

Tool pricing and allowances vary: Lovable pricing · Claude pricing · Base44 pricing. Check the services your project actually needs.

AppBuild pricing

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0/monthUp to 10 app users. Your own app on iPhone, Android and the web.
Business$49/month or $299/yearUp to 1,000 app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.
Business Pro$99/month or $499/yearUnlimited app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.

Card processing fees are charged by Stripe on top of any plan and are not set by AppBuild. Full details on the pricing page.

More comparisons

Start free

Last checked 7 October 2026. Competitor prices come from their own public pages, linked below each table. Where a price isn't published we say so. Spotted something out of date? Tell us via support.