Compare martial arts apps

AppBuild.diy compared with 5 providers and the option to vibe code your own app: prices, fees, contracts and whether you get your own branded app.

Best for: martial arts & bjj businesses that want their own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans.

Your business. Your own app.

A look inside AppBuild: branded app starter, contact and directions example, loyalty rewards example, push notification example.

See martial arts & bjj apps
AppBuild app example showing branded app starter — AppBuild martial arts & bjj app comparison
Branded app starter
AppBuild app example showing contact and directions example — AppBuild martial arts & bjj app comparison
Contact and directions example
AppBuild app example showing loyalty rewards example — AppBuild martial arts & bjj app comparison
Loyalty rewards example
AppBuild app example showing push notification example — AppBuild martial arts & bjj app comparison
Push notification example

Providers in this comparison

Price and features at a glance

ProviderTypeStarting price (as published)Your own branded appOrder / booking feesContract / trial
AppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild martial arts & bjj app comparisonAppBuild.diyBranded app builder for local businessesFree (up to 10 users); $49/month or $299/year; $99/month or $499/yearYes — App Store, Google Play and web0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; Stripe card fees applyNo contract; free plan
Vibe codingBuild from scratch with Lovable, Claude, Base44 or similar toolsVariable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.Bespoke branding and features; store packaging and submission require additional setupDepends on your chosen payment provider and services; processing fees still applyDepends on the tools and services you choose; free tiers may have limits
Spark Membership logo — AppBuild martial arts & bjj app comparisonSpark MembershipMartial arts school software"8-Week Free Trial, Then Just $199/Month"Spark Member App listed; white-label price not on live page. (third-party: fitgap.com reports $499 setup plus $199/year)"Average Processing Rate: 2.86%" (rates vary)8-week free trial; price "locked in" for life
Kicksite logo — AppBuild martial arts & bjj app comparisonKicksiteMartial arts school software0-25 students $49/mo; 26-50 $99/mo; 51-100 $149/mo; 101+ $199/moNot stated on pricing pageNot stated (preferred processor Basys, "flat rate processing fees")Free trial ("Try for Free"); annual discount on request
Gymdesk logo — AppBuild martial arts & bjj app comparisonGymdeskGym/martial arts softwareFrom $75/mo (up to 50 active members, with Gymdesk Payments) or $100/mo withoutAdd-on: "$100/mo, first month free"Not stated as platform feeNo contracts; 30-day free trial, no card
Zen Planner logo — AppBuild martial arts & bjj app comparisonZen PlannerGym/martial arts softwareStudio "Starting at $99 /mo"Add-on: $39/moNot statedMonth-to-month; annual on request
Mindbody logo — AppBuild martial arts & bjj app comparisonMindbodyStudio management software + marketplace appStarter "Starting at £89 GBP/month per location"Add-on (price not published)Processing rate plus "$0.10 to $0.30" per transactionDepends on plan

How AppBuild differs

  • vs Spark Membership: Spark starts at $199/mo after the trial; AppBuild starts free and its Unlimited plan is $99/mo with the branded app included.
  • vs Kicksite: AppBuild delivers the school's own store app; Kicksite's pricing page does not list a branded app.
  • vs Gymdesk: Gymdesk adds $100/mo for a branded app; AppBuild includes it.
  • vs Zen Planner: Zen Planner's branded app is a $39/mo add-on; AppBuild includes it on every plan.
  • vs Mindbody: AppBuild includes the branded app; Mindbody sells it as an add-on.

Where AppBuild is strong

  • Your own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with every feature for up to 10 users.
  • Class timetables, bookings and paid memberships without per-member fees.
  • Branded app included rather than a paid add-on.

Where others may suit you better

  • No door-entry or access-control hardware integration.
  • Fewer back-office management and reporting tools than dedicated gym software.

Key features by provider

ProviderMarketKey featuresSource
Spark Membership logo — AppBuild martial arts & bjj app comparisonSpark MembershipUS (mainly)Member management, two-way SMS, billing, attendance, free data migrationsparkmembership.com, sparkmembership.com
Kicksite logo — AppBuild martial arts & bjj app comparisonKicksiteUS (mainly)Lead capture, landing pages, online membership sales, email/text automation, past-due trackingkicksite.com
Gymdesk logo — AppBuild martial arts & bjj app comparisonGymdeskUS, Canada, 34 countriesFull platform, unlimited staff, gym website, Smoothcomp competition linkgymdesk.com
Zen Planner logo — AppBuild martial arts & bjj app comparisonZen PlannerUS (mainly)Membership, scheduling, billing, website, marketingzenplanner.com
Mindbody logo — AppBuild martial arts & bjj app comparisonMindbodyUK, US, globalBooking, payments, website, marketplace listingmindbodyonline.com
Vibe codingDepends on your chosen toolsFull design freedom. Ordering, bookings, loyalty, permissions and integrations must be built, tested and maintained. Native push, certificates and store submissions need additional technical work or a service such as AppBuild.lovable.dev, claude.com, base44.com

Gaps in published data: Spark white-label app price (third-party only); Kicksite branded app and processing rates; Mindbody branded app price.

Build from scratch with AI, or start with AppBuild?

Lovable, Claude, Base44 and similar tools are a genuine alternative in any industry. A bespoke build gives you more control over the design and business logic. AppBuild offers a shorter route to launch for supported business needs, with ready-made capabilities you can add without building each one yourself.

ConsiderationAppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild martial arts & bjj app comparisonAppBuild.diyVibe coding
Time to marketStart with ready-made pages and features; configure your content and services. Store review still takes time.A prototype can be quick; production testing, payments, permissions and store preparation add work.
CostsPublished plan price, plus applicable payment processing, store-account and third-party service costs.Variable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.
Flexibility & ease of useAdd supported capabilities such as loyalty, bookings and ordering through the builder; less freedom than a fully custom product.Bespoke layouts and logic; each new capability needs implementation, testing and ongoing maintenance.
Push & app storesAppBuild provides push and app infrastructure, subject to setup requirements and store approval.Native push certificates, signing and store submissions are technical work, not automatically solved by generating a website.
Ongoing responsibilityShared business-app framework and managed infrastructure; you manage your business content and settings.You are responsible for security, data access, updates and the services behind your app.

These approaches can work together: build your bespoke experience with AI, then use AppBuild to wrap your app and add supported native capabilities such as push notifications. Wrapping does not automatically add AppBuild’s business features to your custom app.

Tool pricing and allowances vary: Lovable pricing · Claude pricing · Base44 pricing. Check the services your project actually needs.

AppBuild pricing

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0/monthUp to 10 app users. Your own app on iPhone, Android and the web.
Business$49/month or $299/yearUp to 1,000 app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.
Business Pro$99/month or $499/yearUnlimited app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.

Card processing fees are charged by Stripe on top of any plan and are not set by AppBuild. Full details on the pricing page.

More comparisons

Start free

Last checked 7 October 2026. Competitor prices come from their own public pages, linked below each table. Where a price isn't published we say so. Spotted something out of date? Tell us via support.