Compare fitness apps

AppBuild.diy compared with 7 providers and the option to vibe code your own app: prices, fees, contracts and whether you get your own branded app.

Best for: gyms & fitness businesses that want their own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans.

Your business. Your own app.

A look inside AppBuild: workout programmes, workout detail, active workout, set tracking.

See gyms & fitness apps
AppBuild app example showing workout programmes — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparison
Workout programmes
AppBuild app example showing workout detail — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparison
Workout detail
AppBuild app example showing active workout — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparison
Active workout
AppBuild app example showing set tracking — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparison
Set tracking

Providers in this comparison

Price and features at a glance

ProviderTypeStarting price (as published)Your own branded appOrder / booking feesContract / trial
AppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparisonAppBuild.diyBranded app builder for local businessesFree (up to 10 users); $49/month or $299/year; $99/month or $499/yearYes — App Store, Google Play and web0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; Stripe card fees applyNo contract; free plan
Vibe codingBuild from scratch with Lovable, Claude, Base44 or similar toolsVariable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.Bespoke branding and features; store packaging and submission require additional setupDepends on your chosen payment provider and services; processing fees still applyDepends on the tools and services you choose; free tiers may have limits
ABC Glofox logo — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparisonABC GlofoxGym/studio management software"Plans starting at $99 per month" (Essential). Boost, Elite, Enterprise: Not published (demo/quote)Add-on on Essential and Boost (price not published); included on EliteNot stated on plans page. (third-party: costbench.com / vibefam.com report 2.9% + $0.30 platform surcharge on payments)"Flexible contracts"; free demo; no trial stated
Mindbody logo — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparisonMindbodyStudio/gym management software + Mindbody marketplace appStarter "Starting at £89 GBP/month per location"; FAQ references $79 USD/month (North America)Add-on (price not published). (third-party: schedulingkit.com reports $249 to $299/mo)Mindbody Payments: processing rate plus "$0.10 to $0.30" fixed fee per transaction (North America and Asia)Contract "depends on the specific plan and billing terms"; no trial stated; no setup fee
PushPress logo — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparisonPushPressGym management softwareFree $0/mo; Pro $159/mo; Max $229/mo (USD, monthly)Add-on: $97/moCard: Free plan 4.99% + $0.30; Pro 2.89% + $0.30; Max 2.75% + $0.30. ACH 0.79% + $0.30 (Pro/Max)Not stated on page
TeamUp logo — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparisonTeamUpGym/studio management software"$189/month for 101-200 customers" (USD shown; GBP/EUR/AUD/CAD options), priced by active customersAdd-on: $99/moNot stated"No contract or long-term commitment", month-to-month; no setup fee; trial not stated
Wodify logo — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparisonWodifyGym management softwareNot verified live (site returned 403). (third-party: costbench.com / Capterra report from $79/mo per location)Add-on (price not verified)Not verifiedNot verified
Gymdesk logo — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparisonGymdeskGym management softwareFrom $75/mo (up to 50 active members, with Gymdesk Payments) or $100/mo without; tiers to $200/$240 (151 to 250 members)Add-on: "$100/mo, first month free"Not stated as platform fee; software is cheaper when using Gymdesk PaymentsNo contracts, cancel anytime; 30-day free trial, no card
Zen Planner logo — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparisonZen PlannerGym/studio management softwareStudio "Starting at $99 /mo"; Essentials $198; Ultimate $348Add-on: $39/moNot stated (uses Daxko Payments or preferred processors)Month-to-month; annual on request

How AppBuild differs

  • vs ABC Glofox: AppBuild publishes every tier price (Free, $49/mo, $99/mo); Glofox publishes only a "$99 per month" starting point and gates the branded app to an add-on or the Elite tier.
  • vs Mindbody: AppBuild includes its own App Store and Google Play listing on every plan; Mindbody sells the branded app as a separate add-on.
  • vs PushPress: PushPress Pro ($159/mo) plus branded app ($97/mo) is $256/mo; AppBuild Unlimited is $99/mo with the branded app included.
  • vs TeamUp: TeamUp's branded app is a $99/mo add-on on top of a customer-count subscription; AppBuild's app is the product and starts free.
  • vs Wodify: AppBuild takes zero commission and publishes pricing; Wodify's pricing page could not be verified.
  • vs Gymdesk: Gymdesk charges $100/mo extra for a branded app on top of the software fee; AppBuild includes it.
  • vs Zen Planner: Zen Planner's branded app is a $39/mo add-on to a $99/mo+ plan; AppBuild has a free tier with all features.

Where AppBuild is strong

  • Your own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with every feature for up to 10 users.
  • Class timetables, bookings and paid memberships without per-member fees.
  • Branded app included rather than a paid add-on.

Where others may suit you better

  • No door-entry or access-control hardware integration.
  • Fewer back-office management and reporting tools than dedicated gym software.

Key features by provider

ProviderMarketKey featuresSource
ABC Glofox logo — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparisonABC GlofoxUK, US, globalBooking, scheduling, member management, payments, payroll, reporting, member and staff apps, lead capture, e-agreementsglofox.com
Mindbody logo — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparisonMindbodyUK, US, globalBooking, integrated payments, branded booking widgets, website, listing in Mindbody app, reporting; higher tiers add marketing automation, AI front deskmindbodyonline.com
PushPress logo — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparisonPushPressUS (mainly)Unlimited members/staff, class scheduling, digital waivers, automated billing, attendance; Train $79/mo, Grow $329/mo add-onspushpress.com
TeamUp logo — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparisonTeamUpUK, US, globalBooking, payments, POS, gift cards, reporting, scheduling, unlimited locationsgoteamup.com
Wodify logo — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparisonWodifyUS, global (CrossFit/functional)Scheduling, billing, waivers, POS, workout tracking (third-party description)wodify.com, costbench.com (includes third-party figures)
Gymdesk logo — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparisonGymdeskUS, Canada, 34 countriesFull platform on every plan, unlimited staff, gym website, extra location $50 or $100/mogymdesk.com
Zen Planner logo — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparisonZen PlannerUS (mainly)Membership management, scheduling, billing, payroll, website, marketing automationzenplanner.com
Vibe codingDepends on your chosen toolsFull design freedom. Ordering, bookings, loyalty, permissions and integrations must be built, tested and maintained. Native push, certificates and store submissions need additional technical work or a service such as AppBuild.lovable.dev, claude.com, base44.com

Gaps in published data: Glofox tier prices above Essential and transaction fees; Mindbody branded app price; Wodify (site blocked, third-party only); PushPress and Zen Planner trial terms not stated.

Build from scratch with AI, or start with AppBuild?

Lovable, Claude, Base44 and similar tools are a genuine alternative in any industry. A bespoke build gives you more control over the design and business logic. AppBuild offers a shorter route to launch for supported business needs, with ready-made capabilities you can add without building each one yourself.

ConsiderationAppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild gyms & fitness app comparisonAppBuild.diyVibe coding
Time to marketStart with ready-made pages and features; configure your content and services. Store review still takes time.A prototype can be quick; production testing, payments, permissions and store preparation add work.
CostsPublished plan price, plus applicable payment processing, store-account and third-party service costs.Variable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.
Flexibility & ease of useAdd supported capabilities such as loyalty, bookings and ordering through the builder; less freedom than a fully custom product.Bespoke layouts and logic; each new capability needs implementation, testing and ongoing maintenance.
Push & app storesAppBuild provides push and app infrastructure, subject to setup requirements and store approval.Native push certificates, signing and store submissions are technical work, not automatically solved by generating a website.
Ongoing responsibilityShared business-app framework and managed infrastructure; you manage your business content and settings.You are responsible for security, data access, updates and the services behind your app.

These approaches can work together: build your bespoke experience with AI, then use AppBuild to wrap your app and add supported native capabilities such as push notifications. Wrapping does not automatically add AppBuild’s business features to your custom app.

Tool pricing and allowances vary: Lovable pricing · Claude pricing · Base44 pricing. Check the services your project actually needs.

AppBuild pricing

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0/monthUp to 10 app users. Your own app on iPhone, Android and the web.
Business$49/month or $299/yearUp to 1,000 app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.
Business Pro$99/month or $499/yearUnlimited app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.

Card processing fees are charged by Stripe on top of any plan and are not set by AppBuild. Full details on the pricing page.

More comparisons

Start free

Last checked 7 October 2026. Competitor prices come from their own public pages, linked below each table. Where a price isn't published we say so. Spotted something out of date? Tell us via support.