Compare tattoo studio apps

AppBuild.diy compared with 5 providers and the option to vibe code your own app: prices, fees, contracts and whether you get your own branded app.

Best for: tattoo studios businesses that want their own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans.

Your business. Your own app.

A look inside AppBuild: beauty app home, appointment booking example, loyalty rewards example, push notification example.

See tattoo studios apps
AppBuild app example showing beauty app home — AppBuild tattoo studios app comparison
Beauty app home
AppBuild app example showing appointment booking example — AppBuild tattoo studios app comparison
Appointment booking example
AppBuild app example showing loyalty rewards example — AppBuild tattoo studios app comparison
Loyalty rewards example
AppBuild app example showing push notification example — AppBuild tattoo studios app comparison
Push notification example

Providers in this comparison

Price and features at a glance

ProviderTypeStarting price (as published)Your own branded appOrder / booking feesContract / trial
AppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild tattoo studios app comparisonAppBuild.diyBranded app builder for local businessesFree (up to 10 users); $49/month or $299/year; $99/month or $499/yearYes — App Store, Google Play and web0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; Stripe card fees applyNo contract; free plan
Vibe codingBuild from scratch with Lovable, Claude, Base44 or similar toolsVariable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.Bespoke branding and features; store packaging and submission require additional setupDepends on your chosen payment provider and services; processing fees still applyDepends on the tools and services you choose; free tiers may have limits
Porter logo — AppBuild tattoo studios app comparisonPorterVertical tattoo studio softwareArtist Essentials $35/mo; Artist Pro $65/mo; Studio Pro $250/mo; Studio Ultimate contact salesNo (not listed on pricing page)Not statedArtist plans 30-day free trial; Studio Pro 14-day free trial
Tattoo Studio Pro logo — AppBuild tattoo studios app comparisonTattoo Studio ProVertical tattoo studio softwareSolo $29/mo ($239/yr), 1 member; Crew $69/mo up to 5; Tribe $119/mo up to 10; up to Legion $299/mo; Empire customNo (staff app on iOS/Android/web/Mac, not a branded client app)Not stated; "Unlimited SMS reminders, no per-text fee"30-day free trial, cancel anytime
InkBookVertical tattoo platformFrom $49 NZD/mo (third-party: getporter.io blog)Not statedNot statedNot stated
Booksy logo — AppBuild tattoo studios app comparisonBooksyBooking software + consumer marketplace appUS $29.99/mo + tax; UK £40/mo (plus VAT)Shared (Booksy customer app)Boost: 30% one-time on first visit (US max $100; UK min £5)No commitment; trial US 14 days, UK 7 days
Vagaro logo — AppBuild tattoo studios app comparisonVagaroSalon software + marketplace (tattoo fit not verified on pricing page)UK £20/mo one location; US $30/mo (third-party: koalendar.com)Add-on (third-party: koalendar.com cites $100/mo)Not statedCancel anytime; 30-day free trial

How AppBuild differs

  • vs Porter: Porter does not list a branded client app; AppBuild puts the studio's own app with portfolio galleries and consent forms in the stores.
  • vs Tattoo Studio Pro: Tattoo Studio Pro's app is for the studio team; AppBuild's app is the client-facing branded app.
  • vs InkBook: InkBook pricing is NZD-based (third-party); AppBuild sells in UK and US with USD pricing from Free.
  • vs Booksy: Booksy's Boost takes 30% on first visits; AppBuild takes 0% on deposits and bookings.
  • vs Vagaro: branded app is an add-on on Vagaro; included on AppBuild.

Where AppBuild is strong

  • Your own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with every feature for up to 10 users.
  • Flat monthly price, not per staff member or per booking.
  • Works alongside Square Appointments and Acuity if you already use them.

Where others may suit you better

  • Lighter on salon back-office tools such as payroll, staff commission and stock control.
  • No marketplace listing to bring in new clients.

Key features by provider

ProviderMarketKey featuresSource
Porter logo — AppBuild tattoo studios app comparisonPorterUSCalendar, deposits and payments, reminders, chat, waivers and consent forms (Pro), email/SMS marketing, commission splits, custom shop website (Studio Pro)getporter.io
Tattoo Studio Pro logo — AppBuild tattoo studios app comparisonTattoo Studio ProUS (USD)Booking, deposits, digital forms, queue/waitlist, client profiles, portfolios, POS, commissions reports; website templates $99 to $149tattoostudiopro.com
InkBookNew Zealand (others not verified)Commission tracking, client portals (third-party)getporter.io
Booksy logo — AppBuild tattoo studios app comparisonBooksyUS, UKBooking, deposits/no-show tools, marketingbiz.booksy.com, biz.booksy.com
Vagaro logo — AppBuild tattoo studios app comparisonVagaroUS, UKBooking, forms, MySitevagaro.com
Vibe codingDepends on your chosen toolsFull design freedom. Ordering, bookings, loyalty, permissions and integrations must be built, tested and maintained. Native push, certificates and store submissions need additional technical work or a service such as AppBuild.lovable.dev, claude.com, base44.com

Gaps in published data: InkBook pricing third-party only; Porter and Tattoo Studio Pro do not state contract terms or payment fees on pricing pages; Vagaro and Booksy tattoo-specific features not shown on pricing pages.

Build from scratch with AI, or start with AppBuild?

Lovable, Claude, Base44 and similar tools are a genuine alternative in any industry. A bespoke build gives you more control over the design and business logic. AppBuild offers a shorter route to launch for supported business needs, with ready-made capabilities you can add without building each one yourself.

ConsiderationAppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild tattoo studios app comparisonAppBuild.diyVibe coding
Time to marketStart with ready-made pages and features; configure your content and services. Store review still takes time.A prototype can be quick; production testing, payments, permissions and store preparation add work.
CostsPublished plan price, plus applicable payment processing, store-account and third-party service costs.Variable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.
Flexibility & ease of useAdd supported capabilities such as loyalty, bookings and ordering through the builder; less freedom than a fully custom product.Bespoke layouts and logic; each new capability needs implementation, testing and ongoing maintenance.
Push & app storesAppBuild provides push and app infrastructure, subject to setup requirements and store approval.Native push certificates, signing and store submissions are technical work, not automatically solved by generating a website.
Ongoing responsibilityShared business-app framework and managed infrastructure; you manage your business content and settings.You are responsible for security, data access, updates and the services behind your app.

These approaches can work together: build your bespoke experience with AI, then use AppBuild to wrap your app and add supported native capabilities such as push notifications. Wrapping does not automatically add AppBuild’s business features to your custom app.

Tool pricing and allowances vary: Lovable pricing · Claude pricing · Base44 pricing. Check the services your project actually needs.

AppBuild pricing

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0/monthUp to 10 app users. Your own app on iPhone, Android and the web.
Business$49/month or $299/yearUp to 1,000 app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.
Business Pro$99/month or $499/yearUnlimited app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.

Card processing fees are charged by Stripe on top of any plan and are not set by AppBuild. Full details on the pricing page.

More comparisons

Start free

Last checked 7 October 2026. Competitor prices come from their own public pages, linked below each table. Where a price isn't published we say so. Spotted something out of date? Tell us via support.