Compare hair & beauty apps

AppBuild.diy compared with 7 providers and the option to vibe code your own app: prices, fees, contracts and whether you get your own branded app.

Best for: hair & beauty businesses that want their own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans.

Your business. Your own app.

A look inside AppBuild: beauty app home, appointment booking example, loyalty rewards example, push notification example.

See hair & beauty apps
AppBuild app example showing beauty app home — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparison
Beauty app home
AppBuild app example showing appointment booking example — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparison
Appointment booking example
AppBuild app example showing loyalty rewards example — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparison
Loyalty rewards example
AppBuild app example showing push notification example — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparison
Push notification example

Providers in this comparison

Price and features at a glance

ProviderTypeStarting price (as published)Your own branded appOrder / booking feesContract / trial
AppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparisonAppBuild.diyBranded app builder for local businessesFree (up to 10 users); $49/month or $299/year; $99/month or $499/yearYes — App Store, Google Play and web0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; Stripe card fees applyNo contract; free plan
Vibe codingBuild from scratch with Lovable, Claude, Base44 or similar toolsVariable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.Bespoke branding and features; store packaging and submission require additional setupDepends on your chosen payment provider and services; processing fees still applyDepends on the tools and services you choose; free tiers may have limits
Phorest logo — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparisonPhorestSalon/spa softwareNot published (demo/quote). Plans: Starter, Grow, Ultimate, EliteAdd-on: "Branded App" listed as add-on, price not publishedNot statedNo free trial (personalised set-up instead); contract not disclosed
Fresha logo — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparisonFreshaBooking software + consumer marketplaceUK: Independent £14.95/mo; Team £9.95 per team member/mo (ex VAT). US: Independent $19.95/mo, Team $14.95 per team member/mo (third-party: costbench.com)Shared (Fresha marketplace app)20% one-time commission on marketplace new clients, minimum £4 (UK). Online card 1.40% + £0.25No minimum commitment; 7-day trial
Vagaro logo — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparisonVagaroSalon/spa software + marketplaceUK: £20/mo one location, 1 calendar; extra calendar licences $10 (US) each up to 7. US: $30/mo (third-party: koalendar.com)Add-on (price not on pricing page; third-party: koalendar.com cites $100/mo)Not statedCancel anytime; 30-day free trial
GlossGenius logo — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparisonGlossGeniusSalon/beauty softwareStandard $24/mo billed annually or $28/mo monthly; Gold $48/$56; Platinum $148/$168No (not listed on pricing page)Flat 2.6% card processing; instant payouts +1.8%14-day free trial, no card
Boulevard logo — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparisonBoulevardSalon/spa softwareEssentials $143/mo for 1 location; Premier $234/mo per location; Prestige $328/mo per locationNo (not listed on pricing page)Not statedDemo-led; trial not stated
Timely logo — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparisonTimelySalon/beauty softwareBuild $26, Elevate $39, Innovate $47 per staff member/mo (third-party: pabau.com)Not statedNot stated (Stripe card fees per third-party)14-day free trial (third-party: pabau.com)
Treatwell logo — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparisonTreatwellSalon software + consumer marketplaceNot published (pricing page shows "Start for free", no figures). Plans: Freelancer, AdvancedShared (Treatwell marketplace app)35% commission on new-client marketplace bookings; 0% on repeat bookings; 2.5% + VAT online prepayment feeNot stated

How AppBuild differs

  • vs Phorest: Phorest's branded app is a quoted add-on with no published price; AppBuild publishes its pricing and includes the branded app from the Free tier.
  • vs Fresha: Fresha charges 20% on marketplace new clients; AppBuild charges zero commission on bookings.
  • vs Vagaro: Vagaro sells the branded app as an add-on; AppBuild's product is the branded app.
  • vs GlossGenius: GlossGenius does not list a branded client app; AppBuild puts the salon's own app on the App Store and Google Play.
  • vs Boulevard: Boulevard starts at $143/mo with no branded app on its pricing page; AppBuild Pro is $49/mo.
  • vs Timely: Timely prices per staff member (third-party); AppBuild prices per app by user count, not staff seats.
  • vs Treatwell: Treatwell takes 35% on new marketplace clients; AppBuild takes 0%.

Where AppBuild is strong

  • Your own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with every feature for up to 10 users.
  • Flat monthly price, not per staff member or per booking.
  • Works alongside Square Appointments and Acuity if you already use them.

Where others may suit you better

  • Lighter on salon back-office tools such as payroll, staff commission and stock control.
  • No marketplace listing to bring in new clients.

Key features by provider

ProviderMarketKey featuresSource
Phorest logo — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparisonPhorestUK, Ireland, USBooking, digital loyalty (add-on), two-way SMS (add-on), memberships (add-on), ads managerphorest.com
Fresha logo — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparisonFreshaUK, USBooking, payments, marketplace, Klarna BNPLfresha.com
Vagaro logo — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparisonVagaroUS, UKBooking, MySite website, forms, reports, multi-channel booking widgetsvagaro.com
GlossGenius logo — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparisonGlossGeniusUSBooking, payments, payroll add-on ($40/mo + $6/staff), Reception add-on ($50/mo)glossgenius.com
Boulevard logo — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparisonBoulevardUSBooking, email blasts, forms add-on, QuickBooks add-onjoinblvd.com
Timely logo — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparisonTimelyNot verified (pricing page did not render)Booking, reminders, paymentsgettimely.com, pabau.com
Treatwell logo — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparisonTreatwellUK, EuropeDigital calendar, marketplace listing, unlimited staff (Advanced)treatwell.co.uk
Vibe codingDepends on your chosen toolsFull design freedom. Ordering, bookings, loyalty, permissions and integrations must be built, tested and maintained. Native push, certificates and store submissions need additional technical work or a service such as AppBuild.lovable.dev, claude.com, base44.com

Gaps in published data: Phorest pricing and branded app price not published; Treatwell subscription price not published; Timely pricing page returned no content (third-party only, market not verified); Fresha and Vagaro US prices third-party.

Build from scratch with AI, or start with AppBuild?

Lovable, Claude, Base44 and similar tools are a genuine alternative in any industry. A bespoke build gives you more control over the design and business logic. AppBuild offers a shorter route to launch for supported business needs, with ready-made capabilities you can add without building each one yourself.

ConsiderationAppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild hair & beauty app comparisonAppBuild.diyVibe coding
Time to marketStart with ready-made pages and features; configure your content and services. Store review still takes time.A prototype can be quick; production testing, payments, permissions and store preparation add work.
CostsPublished plan price, plus applicable payment processing, store-account and third-party service costs.Variable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.
Flexibility & ease of useAdd supported capabilities such as loyalty, bookings and ordering through the builder; less freedom than a fully custom product.Bespoke layouts and logic; each new capability needs implementation, testing and ongoing maintenance.
Push & app storesAppBuild provides push and app infrastructure, subject to setup requirements and store approval.Native push certificates, signing and store submissions are technical work, not automatically solved by generating a website.
Ongoing responsibilityShared business-app framework and managed infrastructure; you manage your business content and settings.You are responsible for security, data access, updates and the services behind your app.

These approaches can work together: build your bespoke experience with AI, then use AppBuild to wrap your app and add supported native capabilities such as push notifications. Wrapping does not automatically add AppBuild’s business features to your custom app.

Tool pricing and allowances vary: Lovable pricing · Claude pricing · Base44 pricing. Check the services your project actually needs.

AppBuild pricing

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0/monthUp to 10 app users. Your own app on iPhone, Android and the web.
Business$49/month or $299/yearUp to 1,000 app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.
Business Pro$99/month or $499/yearUnlimited app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.

Card processing fees are charged by Stripe on top of any plan and are not set by AppBuild. Full details on the pricing page.

More comparisons

Start free

Last checked 7 October 2026. Competitor prices come from their own public pages, linked below each table. Where a price isn't published we say so. Spotted something out of date? Tell us via support.