Compare fish chip shop apps

AppBuild.diy compared with 6 providers and the option to vibe code your own app: prices, fees, contracts and whether you get your own branded app.

Best for: fish and chip shop businesses that want their own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans.

Your business. Your own app.

A look inside AppBuild: mr chans menu, choose your dish, mr chans basket, order history.

See fish and chip shop apps
AppBuild app example showing mr chans menu — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparison
Mr Chans menu
AppBuild app example showing choose your dish — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparison
Choose your dish
AppBuild app example showing mr chans basket — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparison
Mr Chans basket
AppBuild app example showing order history — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparison
Order history

Providers in this comparison

Price and features at a glance

ProviderTypeStarting price (as published)Your own branded appOrder / booking feesContract / trial
AppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparisonAppBuild.diyBranded app builder for local businessesFree (up to 10 users); $49/month or $299/year; $99/month or $499/yearYes — App Store, Google Play and web0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; Stripe card fees applyNo contract; free plan
Vibe codingBuild from scratch with Lovable, Claude, Base44 or similar toolsVariable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.Bespoke branding and features; store packaging and submission require additional setupDepends on your chosen payment provider and services; processing fees still applyDepends on the tools and services you choose; free tiers may have limits
Just Eat logo — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparisonJust EatDelivery marketplaceNot published (partner page returned 403); approx 14-30% commission (third-party: dineopen.com); £699 onboarding (third-party: 3s-pos.com)SharedCommission per order (third-party)Not stated
Uber Eats logo — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparisonUber EatsDelivery marketplaceUS: Lite 20%, Plus 25%, Premium 30% marketplace fee; self-delivery 15%; pickup 7%. UK: 30% delivery (33% Uber One), 13% self-delivery, 13% pickup; £650 (excl. VAT) activation feeSharedCommission per order as listedNot stated
Deliveroo logo — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparisonDeliverooDelivery marketplaceNot published (merchant page shows no rates); approx 25-35% commission (third-party: dineopen.com)SharedCommission per order (third-party: dineopen.com)Not stated
Foodhub logo — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparisonFoodhubTakeaway EPOS + ordering + marketplaceNot published (demo/quote)Yes ("Your own branded mobile app")EPOS partners: "The only cost for orders relates to payment processing"; other tiers commission-based (rates not stated)Promo: "2 Months FREE EPOS Rental"; contract not stated
Flipdish logo — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparisonFlipdishBranded ordering + POSUK: Essential from £119/mo per site billed annually, £139 billed monthly. US: Website + Mobile App + Online Ordering from $199/mo billed annually ($249 monthly); Website + Ordering (no app) from $119/mo ($149 monthly)Yes (UK Essential; US $199+ plan)Not stated on pricing page (Flipdish handles card processing)Not stated
GloriaFood logo — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparisonGloriaFoodFree online orderingFree plan (no monthly fee, no commission); POS US$49/mo per location (2-year commitment); online payments US$29/mo; promo marketing US$19/moAdd-on (price not shown on live pricing page)"No commission per order"; table deposits US$0.5 per guestFree: no contract. POS: 2-year commitment

How AppBuild differs

  • vs Just Eat: Just Eat charges commission per order (rates not published) inside its shared app; AppBuild charges zero commission on orders.
  • vs Uber Eats: Uber Eats charges 13% to 33% per order (UK) and the customer relationship sits in Uber's app; AppBuild charges zero commission and the customer orders inside the business's own app.
  • vs Deliveroo: Deliveroo charges commission per order (rates not published) inside its shared app; AppBuild charges zero commission and pushes directly to the business's own customers.
  • vs Foodhub: Foodhub ties its branded app to its EPOS (pricing not published); AppBuild needs no EPOS and publishes its pricing.
  • vs Flipdish: Flipdish's branded app plan starts at £119/mo per site (US $199/mo billed annually); AppBuild's Pro plan is $49/mo or $299/yr with zero commission on orders.
  • vs GloriaFood: GloriaFood's ordering is free but the branded app, online payments and promo marketing are paid add-ons; AppBuild includes all features free up to 10 users.

Where AppBuild is strong

  • Your own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with every feature for up to 10 users.
  • 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans, versus 13–33% per order on delivery marketplaces.
  • Ordering, loyalty and push notifications in one app, with no till hardware needed.

Where others may suit you better

  • Not a till (POS) system or kitchen hardware supplier.
  • No courier network or marketplace to bring in new customers.
  • The free ordering plan takes 5% of each paid order.

Key features by provider

ProviderMarketKey featuresSource
Just Eat logo — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparisonJust EatUKMarketplace listing, own or Just Eat couriersdineopen.com, 3s-pos.com (includes third-party figures)
Uber Eats logo — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparisonUber EatsUK, USMarketplace listing, delivery couriers, pickupmerchants.ubereats.com, merchants.ubereats.com
Deliveroo logo — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparisonDeliverooUKMarketplace listing, delivery couriersmerchants.deliveroo.com, dineopen.com (includes third-party figures)
Foodhub logo — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparisonFoodhubUKEPOS, branded website + app, marketplace listingfoodhubforbusiness.com
Flipdish logo — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparisonFlipdishUK, IE, USBranded website + apps, online ordering, POS, CRM, automated marketing, kiosks/KDS add-onsflipdish.com, flipdish.com
GloriaFood logo — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparisonGloriaFoodGlobal (USD)Ordering widget, table reservations, QR menus, promotions, scheduled ordersgloriafood.com
Vibe codingDepends on your chosen toolsFull design freedom. Ordering, bookings, loyalty, permissions and integrations must be built, tested and maintained. Native push, certificates and store submissions need additional technical work or a service such as AppBuild.lovable.dev, claude.com, base44.com

Gaps in published data: Just Eat and Deliveroo commission rates not published on official pages (third-party ranges only); Foodhub pricing not published; GloriaFood branded app add-on price not shown on live pricing page.

Build from scratch with AI, or start with AppBuild?

Lovable, Claude, Base44 and similar tools are a genuine alternative in any industry. A bespoke build gives you more control over the design and business logic. AppBuild offers a shorter route to launch for supported business needs, with ready-made capabilities you can add without building each one yourself.

ConsiderationAppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild fish and chip shop app comparisonAppBuild.diyVibe coding
Time to marketStart with ready-made pages and features; configure your content and services. Store review still takes time.A prototype can be quick; production testing, payments, permissions and store preparation add work.
CostsPublished plan price, plus applicable payment processing, store-account and third-party service costs.Variable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.
Flexibility & ease of useAdd supported capabilities such as loyalty, bookings and ordering through the builder; less freedom than a fully custom product.Bespoke layouts and logic; each new capability needs implementation, testing and ongoing maintenance.
Push & app storesAppBuild provides push and app infrastructure, subject to setup requirements and store approval.Native push certificates, signing and store submissions are technical work, not automatically solved by generating a website.
Ongoing responsibilityShared business-app framework and managed infrastructure; you manage your business content and settings.You are responsible for security, data access, updates and the services behind your app.

These approaches can work together: build your bespoke experience with AI, then use AppBuild to wrap your app and add supported native capabilities such as push notifications. Wrapping does not automatically add AppBuild’s business features to your custom app.

Tool pricing and allowances vary: Lovable pricing · Claude pricing · Base44 pricing. Check the services your project actually needs.

AppBuild pricing

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0/monthUp to 10 app users. Your own app on iPhone, Android and the web.
Free – Ordering$0/month + 5% per paid orderFor restaurant ordering apps using Stripe Connect. Unlimited app users while eligible. The 5% is on the food and drink subtotal only.
Business$49/month or $299/yearUp to 1,000 app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.
Business Pro$99/month or $499/yearUnlimited app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.

Card processing fees are charged by Stripe on top of any plan and are not set by AppBuild. Full details on the pricing page.

More comparisons

Start free

Last checked 7 October 2026. Competitor prices come from their own public pages, linked below each table. Where a price isn't published we say so. Spotted something out of date? Tell us via support.