Compare restaurant apps

AppBuild.diy compared with 7 providers and the option to vibe code your own app: prices, fees, contracts and whether you get your own branded app.

Best for: restaurants & cafes businesses that want their own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans.

Your business. Your own app.

A look inside AppBuild: mr chans menu, choose your dish, mr chans basket, order history.

See restaurants & cafes apps
AppBuild app example showing mr chans menu — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparison
Mr Chans menu
AppBuild app example showing choose your dish — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparison
Choose your dish
AppBuild app example showing mr chans basket — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparison
Mr Chans basket
AppBuild app example showing order history — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparison
Order history

Providers in this comparison

Price and features at a glance

ProviderTypeStarting price (as published)Your own branded appOrder / booking feesContract / trial
AppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparisonAppBuild.diyBranded app builder for local businessesFree (up to 10 users); $49/month or $299/year; $99/month or $499/yearYes — App Store, Google Play and web0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; Stripe card fees applyNo contract; free plan
Vibe codingBuild from scratch with Lovable, Claude, Base44 or similar toolsVariable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.Bespoke branding and features; store packaging and submission require additional setupDepends on your chosen payment provider and services; processing fees still applyDepends on the tools and services you choose; free tiers may have limits
Flipdish logo — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparisonFlipdishBranded ordering + POSUK: Essential from £119/mo per site billed annually, £139 billed monthly. US: Website + Mobile App + Online Ordering from $199/mo billed annually ($249 monthly); Website + Ordering (no app) from $119/mo ($149 monthly)Yes (UK Essential; US $199+ plan)Not stated on pricing page (Flipdish handles card processing)Not stated
Owner.com logo — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparisonOwner.comRestaurant website + app + orderingFlexible $249/mo + 5% restaurant fee per order; Flat Rate $499/mo with no restaurant feeYes (included)Flexible: 5% per order to restaurant; guests also pay a 5% order support fee on all ordersMonth-to-month, cancel any time
ChowNow logo — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparisonChowNowCommission-free online orderingHub $119/mo, Pro $229/mo, Premier $328/mo; setup $119 to $499 (third-party: getsauce.com)Not verified0% commission; processing 2.95% + $0.29 (third-party: getsauce.com)Not verified
Slerp logo — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparisonSlerpBranded direct orderingNot published (demo/quote; pricing page is password-protected)Yes ("fully white-label app with push notifications")Advertises "plans with 0% commission"Not stated
Toast logo — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparisonToastRestaurant POS with ordering/loyalty add-onsStarter Kit $0/mo with higher processing; Point of Sale $69/mo (third-party: upmenu.com, katalystos.com). Toast Loyalty add-on $25/mo; Online Ordering $75/mo (third-party: upmenu.com)Add-on (price not verified)Card processing approx 2.49% to 3.69% + $0.15 depending on plan (third-party: loman.ai, nerdwallet.com)Hardware often on 36-month financing (third-party: upmenu.com)
GloriaFood logo — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparisonGloriaFoodFree online orderingFree plan (no monthly fee, no commission); POS US$49/mo per location (2-year commitment); online payments US$29/mo; promo marketing US$19/moAdd-on (price not shown on live pricing page)"No commission per order"; table deposits US$0.5 per guestFree: no contract. POS: 2-year commitment
Uber Eats logo — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparisonUber EatsDelivery marketplaceUS: Lite 20%, Plus 25%, Premium 30% marketplace fee; self-delivery 15%; pickup 7%. UK: 30% delivery (33% Uber One), 13% self-delivery, 13% pickup; £650 (excl. VAT) activation feeSharedCommission per order as listedNot stated

How AppBuild differs

  • vs Flipdish: Flipdish's branded app plan starts at £119/mo per site (US $199/mo billed annually); AppBuild's Pro plan is $49/mo or $299/yr with zero commission on orders.
  • vs Owner.com: Owner.com starts at $249/mo plus a 5% restaurant fee per order (and a 5% guest fee); AppBuild takes zero commission and starts free.
  • vs ChowNow: ChowNow plans start at $119/mo plus a setup fee (third-party figures); AppBuild has a free tier and no setup fee is listed in its pricing.
  • vs Slerp: Slerp pricing is not published; AppBuild publishes its pricing and has a free tier.
  • vs Toast: Toast is a POS with paid add-ons for loyalty and online ordering; AppBuild is a branded customer app with loyalty and ordering included and no POS hardware needed (orders print to an existing WiFi printer).
  • vs GloriaFood: GloriaFood's ordering is free but the branded app, online payments and promo marketing are paid add-ons; AppBuild includes all features free up to 10 users.
  • vs Uber Eats: Uber Eats charges 13% to 33% per order (UK) and the customer relationship sits in Uber's app; AppBuild charges zero commission and the customer orders inside the business's own app.

Where AppBuild is strong

  • Your own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with every feature for up to 10 users.
  • 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans, versus 13–33% per order on delivery marketplaces.
  • Ordering, loyalty and push notifications in one app, with no till hardware needed.

Where others may suit you better

  • Not a till (POS) system or kitchen hardware supplier.
  • No courier network or marketplace to bring in new customers.
  • The free ordering plan takes 5% of each paid order.

Key features by provider

ProviderMarketKey featuresSource
Flipdish logo — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparisonFlipdishUK, IE, USBranded website + apps, online ordering, POS, CRM, automated marketing, kiosks/KDS add-onsflipdish.com, flipdish.com
Owner.com logo — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparisonOwner.comUS, CAWebsite, online ordering, branded app, loyalty, AI marketing, SEO pages, catering ordersowner.com
ChowNow logo — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparisonChowNowUSOnline ordering, marketing toolsgetsauce.com (includes third-party figures)
Slerp logo — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparisonSlerpUKWeb ordering, branded app, loyalty, click & collect, delivery integrations (Deliveroo Express, Uber Direct, Stuart, Gophr), catering managerslerp.com, slerp.com
Toast logo — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparisonToastUS (also UK, IE)POS, online ordering, loyalty, mobile order & pay, KDSupmenu.com (includes third-party figures)
GloriaFood logo — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparisonGloriaFoodGlobal (USD)Ordering widget, table reservations, QR menus, promotions, scheduled ordersgloriafood.com
Uber Eats logo — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparisonUber EatsUK, USMarketplace listing, delivery couriers, pickupmerchants.ubereats.com, merchants.ubereats.com
Vibe codingDepends on your chosen toolsFull design freedom. Ordering, bookings, loyalty, permissions and integrations must be built, tested and maintained. Native push, certificates and store submissions need additional technical work or a service such as AppBuild.lovable.dev, claude.com, base44.com

Gaps in published data: ChowNow live page failed (SSL); figures are third-party; Toast official pricing page 403; figures are third-party; Slerp pricing not published.

Build from scratch with AI, or start with AppBuild?

Lovable, Claude, Base44 and similar tools are a genuine alternative in any industry. A bespoke build gives you more control over the design and business logic. AppBuild offers a shorter route to launch for supported business needs, with ready-made capabilities you can add without building each one yourself.

ConsiderationAppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild restaurants & cafes app comparisonAppBuild.diyVibe coding
Time to marketStart with ready-made pages and features; configure your content and services. Store review still takes time.A prototype can be quick; production testing, payments, permissions and store preparation add work.
CostsPublished plan price, plus applicable payment processing, store-account and third-party service costs.Variable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.
Flexibility & ease of useAdd supported capabilities such as loyalty, bookings and ordering through the builder; less freedom than a fully custom product.Bespoke layouts and logic; each new capability needs implementation, testing and ongoing maintenance.
Push & app storesAppBuild provides push and app infrastructure, subject to setup requirements and store approval.Native push certificates, signing and store submissions are technical work, not automatically solved by generating a website.
Ongoing responsibilityShared business-app framework and managed infrastructure; you manage your business content and settings.You are responsible for security, data access, updates and the services behind your app.

These approaches can work together: build your bespoke experience with AI, then use AppBuild to wrap your app and add supported native capabilities such as push notifications. Wrapping does not automatically add AppBuild’s business features to your custom app.

Tool pricing and allowances vary: Lovable pricing · Claude pricing · Base44 pricing. Check the services your project actually needs.

AppBuild pricing

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0/monthUp to 10 app users. Your own app on iPhone, Android and the web.
Free – Ordering$0/month + 5% per paid orderFor restaurant ordering apps using Stripe Connect. Unlimited app users while eligible. The 5% is on the food and drink subtotal only.
Business$49/month or $299/yearUp to 1,000 app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.
Business Pro$99/month or $499/yearUnlimited app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.

Card processing fees are charged by Stripe on top of any plan and are not set by AppBuild. Full details on the pricing page.

More comparisons

Start free

Last checked 7 October 2026. Competitor prices come from their own public pages, linked below each table. Where a price isn't published we say so. Spotted something out of date? Tell us via support.