AppBuild vs Lightspeed Retail
Looking for a Lightspeed Retail alternative? Lightspeed Retail is a retail pos with loyalty + ecommerce. Compare its published pricing, branded apps, fees and capabilities with AppBuild.diy.
Lightspeed Retail is best for bike shops and bookshops businesses that want retail POS with loyalty + ecommerce (POS, inventory, built-in ecommerce, in-store and online loyalty, reporting, API).
AppBuild is best for bike shops businesses that want their own branded app with ready-made ordering, booking, loyalty and push notifications, starting free with 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans.
Your business. Your own app.
A look inside AppBuild: branded shop home, product browsing example, product detail example, loyalty rewards example.
See bike shops apps



Lightspeed Retail vs AppBuild for bike shops
| Consideration | ||
|---|---|---|
| Type | Branded business-app builder with ready-made pages and capabilities | Retail POS with loyalty + ecommerce |
| Published pricing | Free: up to 10 users; Business: $49/month or $299/year; Business Pro: $99/month or $499/year | US: Basic $89/mo, Core $149/mo, Plus $289/mo (1 register; annual billing saves up to 18%). UK: Basic £75/mo, Core £149/mo, Plus £189/mo (1 register) |
| Your own branded app | App Store, Google Play and installable web app; store setup and approval required | No |
| Fees | 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; payment processing and third-party fees may apply | Lightspeed Payments card-present rate shown as 1.5% (US page); extra locations/registers by quote |
| Contract / trial | Free plan; monthly or annual paid plans | Free trial (length not stated); contract terms not stated |
| Capabilities | Supported ordering, bookings, loyalty, push notifications and content pages; check the features your business requires | POS, inventory, built-in ecommerce, in-store and online loyalty, reporting, API |
| Market | Available worldwide, subject to store and payment-service availability | US, UK |
Sources: lightspeedhq.com, lightspeedhq.com. Figures recorded 7 October 2026; currencies, billing periods and packages differ. Confirm current terms with the provider.
Compare all bike shops providersLightspeed Retail vs AppBuild for bookshops
| Consideration | ||
|---|---|---|
| Type | Branded business-app builder with ready-made pages and capabilities | Retail POS with loyalty + ecommerce |
| Published pricing | Free: up to 10 users; Business: $49/month or $299/year; Business Pro: $99/month or $499/year | US: Basic $89/mo, Core $149/mo, Plus $289/mo (1 register; annual billing saves up to 18%). UK: Basic £75/mo, Core £149/mo, Plus £189/mo (1 register) |
| Your own branded app | App Store, Google Play and installable web app; store setup and approval required | No |
| Fees | 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; payment processing and third-party fees may apply | Lightspeed Payments card-present rate shown as 1.5% (US page); extra locations/registers by quote |
| Contract / trial | Free plan; monthly or annual paid plans | Free trial (length not stated); contract terms not stated |
| Capabilities | Supported ordering, bookings, loyalty, push notifications and content pages; check the features your business requires | POS, inventory, built-in ecommerce, in-store and online loyalty, reporting, API |
| Market | Available worldwide, subject to store and payment-service availability | US, UK |
Sources: lightspeedhq.com, lightspeedhq.com. Figures recorded 7 October 2026; currencies, billing periods and packages differ. Confirm current terms with the provider.
Compare all bookshops providersLightspeed Retail vs AppBuild for garden centres
| Consideration | ||
|---|---|---|
| Type | Branded business-app builder with ready-made pages and capabilities | Retail POS with loyalty + ecommerce |
| Published pricing | Free: up to 10 users; Business: $49/month or $299/year; Business Pro: $99/month or $499/year | US: Basic $89/mo, Core $149/mo, Plus $289/mo (1 register; annual billing saves up to 18%). UK: Basic £75/mo, Core £149/mo, Plus £189/mo (1 register) |
| Your own branded app | App Store, Google Play and installable web app; store setup and approval required | No |
| Fees | 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; payment processing and third-party fees may apply | Lightspeed Payments card-present rate shown as 1.5% (US page); extra locations/registers by quote |
| Contract / trial | Free plan; monthly or annual paid plans | Free trial (length not stated); contract terms not stated |
| Capabilities | Supported ordering, bookings, loyalty, push notifications and content pages; check the features your business requires | POS, inventory, built-in ecommerce, in-store and online loyalty, reporting, API |
| Market | Available worldwide, subject to store and payment-service availability | US, UK |
Sources: lightspeedhq.com, lightspeedhq.com. Figures recorded 7 October 2026; currencies, billing periods and packages differ. Confirm current terms with the provider.
Compare all garden centres providersLightspeed Retail vs AppBuild for health food shop
| Consideration | ||
|---|---|---|
| Type | Branded business-app builder with ready-made pages and capabilities | Retail POS with loyalty + ecommerce |
| Published pricing | Free: up to 10 users; Business: $49/month or $299/year; Business Pro: $99/month or $499/year | US: Basic $89/mo, Core $149/mo, Plus $289/mo (1 register; annual billing saves up to 18%). UK: Basic £75/mo, Core £149/mo, Plus £189/mo (1 register) |
| Your own branded app | App Store, Google Play and installable web app; store setup and approval required | No |
| Fees | 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; payment processing and third-party fees may apply | Lightspeed Payments card-present rate shown as 1.5% (US page); extra locations/registers by quote |
| Contract / trial | Free plan; monthly or annual paid plans | Free trial (length not stated); contract terms not stated |
| Capabilities | Supported ordering, bookings, loyalty, push notifications and content pages; check the features your business requires | POS, inventory, built-in ecommerce, in-store and online loyalty, reporting, API |
| Market | Available worldwide, subject to store and payment-service availability | US, UK |
Sources: lightspeedhq.com, lightspeedhq.com. Figures recorded 7 October 2026; currencies, billing periods and packages differ. Confirm current terms with the provider.
Compare all health food shop providersLightspeed Retail vs AppBuild for jewellers
| Consideration | ||
|---|---|---|
| Type | Branded business-app builder with ready-made pages and capabilities | Retail POS with loyalty + ecommerce |
| Published pricing | Free: up to 10 users; Business: $49/month or $299/year; Business Pro: $99/month or $499/year | US: Basic $89/mo, Core $149/mo, Plus $289/mo (1 register; annual billing saves up to 18%). UK: Basic £75/mo, Core £149/mo, Plus £189/mo (1 register) |
| Your own branded app | App Store, Google Play and installable web app; store setup and approval required | No |
| Fees | 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; payment processing and third-party fees may apply | Lightspeed Payments card-present rate shown as 1.5% (US page); extra locations/registers by quote |
| Contract / trial | Free plan; monthly or annual paid plans | Free trial (length not stated); contract terms not stated |
| Capabilities | Supported ordering, bookings, loyalty, push notifications and content pages; check the features your business requires | POS, inventory, built-in ecommerce, in-store and online loyalty, reporting, API |
| Market | Available worldwide, subject to store and payment-service availability | US, UK |
Sources: lightspeedhq.com, lightspeedhq.com. Figures recorded 7 October 2026; currencies, billing periods and packages differ. Confirm current terms with the provider.
Compare all jewellers providersLightspeed Retail vs AppBuild for pet shop
| Consideration | ||
|---|---|---|
| Type | Branded business-app builder with ready-made pages and capabilities | Retail POS with loyalty + ecommerce |
| Published pricing | Free: up to 10 users; Business: $49/month or $299/year; Business Pro: $99/month or $499/year | US: Basic $89/mo, Core $149/mo, Plus $289/mo (1 register; annual billing saves up to 18%). UK: Basic £75/mo, Core £149/mo, Plus £189/mo (1 register) |
| Your own branded app | App Store, Google Play and installable web app; store setup and approval required | No |
| Fees | 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; payment processing and third-party fees may apply | Lightspeed Payments card-present rate shown as 1.5% (US page); extra locations/registers by quote |
| Contract / trial | Free plan; monthly or annual paid plans | Free trial (length not stated); contract terms not stated |
| Capabilities | Supported ordering, bookings, loyalty, push notifications and content pages; check the features your business requires | POS, inventory, built-in ecommerce, in-store and online loyalty, reporting, API |
| Market | Available worldwide, subject to store and payment-service availability | US, UK |
Sources: lightspeedhq.com, lightspeedhq.com. Figures recorded 7 October 2026; currencies, billing periods and packages differ. Confirm current terms with the provider.
Compare all pet shop providersLightspeed Retail vs AppBuild for vape shop
| Consideration | ||
|---|---|---|
| Type | Branded business-app builder with ready-made pages and capabilities | Retail POS with loyalty + ecommerce |
| Published pricing | Free: up to 10 users; Business: $49/month or $299/year; Business Pro: $99/month or $499/year | US: Basic $89/mo, Core $149/mo, Plus $289/mo (1 register; annual billing saves up to 18%). UK: Basic £75/mo, Core £149/mo, Plus £189/mo (1 register) |
| Your own branded app | Installable web app; an App Store listing is not promised for vaping apps | No |
| Fees | 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; payment processing and third-party fees may apply | Lightspeed Payments card-present rate shown as 1.5% (US page); extra locations/registers by quote |
| Contract / trial | Free plan; monthly or annual paid plans | Free trial (length not stated); contract terms not stated |
| Capabilities | Supported ordering, bookings, loyalty, push notifications and content pages; check the features your business requires | POS, inventory, built-in ecommerce, in-store and online loyalty, reporting, API |
| Market | Available worldwide, subject to store and payment-service availability | US, UK |
Sources: lightspeedhq.com, lightspeedhq.com. Figures recorded 7 October 2026; currencies, billing periods and packages differ. Confirm current terms with the provider.
Compare all vape shop providersAppBuild pricing
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0/month | Up to 10 app users. Your own app on iPhone, Android and the web. |
| Business | $49/month or $299/year | Up to 1,000 app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders. |
| Business Pro | $99/month or $499/year | Unlimited app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders. |
Card processing fees are charged by Stripe on top of any plan and are not set by AppBuild. Full details on the pricing page.
Choose Lightspeed Retail if…
- you want retail POS with loyalty + ecommerce.
- you need what it highlights: POS, inventory, built-in ecommerce, in-store and online loyalty, reporting, API.
- its terms suit you: Free trial (length not stated); contract terms not stated.
- you don't need an app under your own brand (own branded app with Lightspeed Retail: No).
Choose AppBuild if…
- you want a published flat price: free for up to 10 users, then $49 or $99/month (Lightspeed Retail: US: Basic $89/mo, Core $149/mo, Plus $289/mo (1 register; annual billing saves up to 18%). UK: Basic £75/mo, Core £149/mo, Plus £189/mo (1 register)).
- you want 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans (Lightspeed Retail fees: Lightspeed Payments card-present rate shown as 1.5% (US page); extra locations/registers by quote).
- you want your own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web.
Key differences from Lightspeed Retail
- Lightspeed is a POS from $89/mo (US) / £75/mo (UK) per register with loyalty but no customer app; AppBuild is the customer-facing branded app and push channel, not a POS.
Questions
Other alternatives to Lightspeed Retail
AppBuild.diy
AppBuild vs Workshop by Bikebook
AppBuild vs Square Loyalty
AppBuild vs Stamp Me
AppBuild vs Loopy Loyalty
AppBuild vs Tapcart- AppBuild vs Bookshop.org
- AppBuild vs Hive
AppBuild vs IndieCommerce (ABA)
AppBuild vs Loyalzoo
AppBuild vs Garden Connect
AppBuild vs Fidelity Systems- AppBuild vs Davidson-Richards OpSuite
Last checked 7 October 2026. Competitor prices come from their own public pages, linked below each table. Where a price isn't published we say so. Spotted something out of date? Tell us via support.