Compare retail apps

AppBuild.diy compared with 7 providers and the option to vibe code your own app: prices, fees, contracts and whether you get your own branded app.

Best for: retail & shopping businesses that want their own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with 0% AppBuild commission on paid plans.

Your business. Your own app.

A look inside AppBuild: branded shop home, product browsing example, product detail example, loyalty rewards example.

See retail & shopping apps
AppBuild app example showing branded shop home — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparison
Branded shop home
AppBuild app example showing product browsing example — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparison
Product browsing example
AppBuild app example showing product detail example — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparison
Product detail example
AppBuild app example showing loyalty rewards example — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparison
Loyalty rewards example

Providers in this comparison

Price and features at a glance

ProviderTypeStarting price (as published)Your own branded appOrder / booking feesContract / trial
AppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparisonAppBuild.diyBranded app builder for local businessesFree (up to 10 users); $49/month or $299/year; $99/month or $499/yearYes — App Store, Google Play and web0% AppBuild commission on paid plans; Stripe card fees applyNo contract; free plan
Vibe codingBuild from scratch with Lovable, Claude, Base44 or similar toolsVariable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.Bespoke branding and features; store packaging and submission require additional setupDepends on your chosen payment provider and services; processing fees still applyDepends on the tools and services you choose; free tiers may have limits
Tapcart logo — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparisonTapcartShopify branded app builderGrowth $500/mo, Scale $1,250/mo, Enterprise+ $2,850/mo (monthly billing); page also shows "$200/mo billed annually" label on all three tiers; Tapcart AI add-on $250/moYesNot statedBilled through Shopify; trial not published; custom contract on Enterprise+
Superfans (formerly Vajro) logo — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparisonSuperfans (formerly Vajro)Shopify branded app builderUnlimited plan $1,000/mo, adjusts by annual revenue tier (<$1M, $1M-$20M, $20M+)Yes ("Fully branded mobile app")Not stated30-day free trial; no long-term commitment
Shopney logo — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparisonShopneyShopify branded app builderSilver $149/mo ($119/mo yearly); Gold $299/mo ($239); Platinum $599/mo ($499); Enterprise from $1,299/mo ($999 yearly)Yes"No sales limits. No commissions."30-day free trial; no long-term commitment
MobiLoud logo — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparisonMobiLoudDone-for-you website-to-app serviceStartup $399/mo, Growth $799/mo, Corporate $1,499/mo plus one-time setup fees (third-party: G2/Software Advice; mobiloud.com/pricing returned 403)Yes (white label, own store accounts)Not statedAnnual billing 15% discount (third-party)
Smile.io logo — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparisonSmile.ioEcommerce loyalty appFree (200 orders/mo); Essential $15/mo (500 orders); Standard $79/mo (1,000); Growth $199/mo (2,500); Plus $999/mo billed annually (7,500); Enterprise customNo (on-site loyalty widget/page)None stated; plans capped by monthly ordersFree plan; Plus/Enterprise billed annually
Yotpo Loyalty & Referrals logo — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparisonYotpo Loyalty & ReferralsEcommerce loyalty appFree plan; paid from $199/mo, scaling with monthly order volume; Premium/Enterprise by quoteNoNot statedFree plan; no trial stated
Square Loyalty logo — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparisonSquare LoyaltyPOS add-on loyaltyUK: £25/mo per location (0-500 loyalty visits), £45 (501-1,500), £65 (1,501+). US: $45 / $75 / $105 per location per month by visit tier (third-party: Square US page did not show price; figures from search of Square/merchantmaverick)No branded app statedNot stated on loyalty page (Square card processing applies)30-day free trial; no long-term contract

How AppBuild differs

  • vs Tapcart: Tapcart is Shopify-only from $500/mo (monthly billing); AppBuild's Shopify integration is $99/mo with a 30-day trial, and AppBuild also works for shops without Shopify.
  • vs Superfans (Vajro): Superfans is one $1,000/mo plan for Shopify stores; AppBuild starts free and its Shopify integration is $99/mo.
  • vs Shopney: Shopney is a Shopify app builder from $149/mo; AppBuild's Shopify integration is $99/mo and the core app also covers loyalty stamps, booking and order-ahead for in-store trade.
  • vs MobiLoud: MobiLoud is a managed service from $399/mo plus setup (third-party); AppBuild is self-serve, free to start, $49-$99/mo after.
  • vs Smile.io: Smile.io is a web loyalty widget for online stores priced by monthly orders; AppBuild is a branded mobile app with stamps/points and push, with no per-order limits.
  • vs Yotpo: Yotpo paid loyalty starts at $199/mo scaling with order volume; AppBuild Pro is $49/mo or $299/yr with no order-volume pricing.
  • vs Square Loyalty: Square Loyalty is priced per location per month by loyalty visits (UK from £25); AppBuild has no per-location or per-visit pricing and adds a branded app with push.

Where AppBuild is strong

  • Your own branded app on the App Store, Google Play and the web, starting free with every feature for up to 10 users.
  • Loyalty, push notifications and click & collect in the shop's own app, not a shared stamp-card app.
  • Works alongside Shopify instead of replacing it.

Where others may suit you better

  • Not a till or full ecommerce stock system.
  • Vape shops: Apple does not allow apps that promote vaping, so the web app is the reliable option.

Key features by provider

ProviderMarketKey featuresSource
Tapcart logo — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparisonTapcartUS-led, Shopify merchantsUnlimited push, custom screens, integrations, analytics/A/B testing (Scale)tapcart.com
Superfans (formerly Vajro) logo — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparisonSuperfans (formerly Vajro)Global (USD), Shopify merchantsUnlimited push, landing pages, app-exclusive drops/discounts, 70+ integrations, dedicated design managersuperfans.io
Shopney logo — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparisonShopneyGlobal (USD), Shopify merchantsPush (segmented AI push on Platinum), abandoned cart (Gold+), loyalty integrations (Platinum), multi-store (Enterprise)shopney.co
MobiLoud logo — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparisonMobiLoudGlobal (USD)Native iOS/Android app from existing site, unlimited push, managed updatesg2.com
Smile.io logo — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparisonSmile.ioGlobal (USD), Shopify/online storesPoints, referrals, VIP tiers (Growth), free-product and discount rewards, on-site nudgessmile.io
Yotpo Loyalty & Referrals logo — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparisonYotpo Loyalty & ReferralsGlobal (USD), ecommerceLoyalty points, referrals, bundle with Reviews & UGCyotpo.com
Square Loyalty logo — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparisonSquare LoyaltyUK, USPoints/visits loyalty tied to Square POS, priced on monthly loyalty visits per locationsquareup.com, squareup.com
Vibe codingDepends on your chosen toolsFull design freedom. Ordering, bookings, loyalty, permissions and integrations must be built, tested and maintained. Native push, certificates and store submissions need additional technical work or a service such as AppBuild.lovable.dev, claude.com, base44.com

Gaps in published data: MobiLoud pricing third-party (site 403). Tapcart page shows a "$200/mo billed annually" label on all three tiers that looks like a page error; monthly prices used. Square US pricing third-party.

Build from scratch with AI, or start with AppBuild?

Lovable, Claude, Base44 and similar tools are a genuine alternative in any industry. A bespoke build gives you more control over the design and business logic. AppBuild offers a shorter route to launch for supported business needs, with ready-made capabilities you can add without building each one yourself.

ConsiderationAppBuild.diy logo — AppBuild retail & shopping app comparisonAppBuild.diyVibe coding
Time to marketStart with ready-made pages and features; configure your content and services. Store review still takes time.A prototype can be quick; production testing, payments, permissions and store preparation add work.
CostsPublished plan price, plus applicable payment processing, store-account and third-party service costs.Variable: AI subscriptions / credits, plus hosting, database and any paid services as usage grows. Free allowances may apply; not a fixed all-in price.
Flexibility & ease of useAdd supported capabilities such as loyalty, bookings and ordering through the builder; less freedom than a fully custom product.Bespoke layouts and logic; each new capability needs implementation, testing and ongoing maintenance.
Push & app storesAppBuild provides push and app infrastructure, subject to setup requirements and store approval.Native push certificates, signing and store submissions are technical work, not automatically solved by generating a website.
Ongoing responsibilityShared business-app framework and managed infrastructure; you manage your business content and settings.You are responsible for security, data access, updates and the services behind your app.

These approaches can work together: build your bespoke experience with AI, then use AppBuild to wrap your app and add supported native capabilities such as push notifications. Wrapping does not automatically add AppBuild’s business features to your custom app.

Tool pricing and allowances vary: Lovable pricing · Claude pricing · Base44 pricing. Check the services your project actually needs.

AppBuild pricing

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0/monthUp to 10 app users. Your own app on iPhone, Android and the web.
Business$49/month or $299/yearUp to 1,000 app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.
Business Pro$99/month or $499/yearUnlimited app users. 0% AppBuild commission on orders.

Card processing fees are charged by Stripe on top of any plan and are not set by AppBuild. Full details on the pricing page.

More comparisons

Start free

Last checked 7 October 2026. Competitor prices come from their own public pages, linked below each table. Where a price isn't published we say so. Spotted something out of date? Tell us via support.